Cricket Umpires Australia


ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Match Officials Announced

02 March 2022

World Cup

The International Cricket Council (ICC) have announced the Match Officials team for the upcoming Women’s Cricket World Cup in New Zealand starting this week.

Cricket Australia (CA) National Umpire Panel (NUP) member Paul Wilson has been appointed alongside CA Supplementary Umpire Panel (SUP) members Claire Polosak and Eloise Sheridan for the tournament. All three have been appointed to International matches across this season with Wilson standing in the Men’s Ashes, whilst Sheridan and Polosak stood in the Women’s Ashes and India/Australia Series. Both Polosak and Sheridan made their respective Test Match umpiring debuts.

The ICC have included eight female match officials from around the world to stand in this tournament which is up from six in the 2017 World Cup. ICC Senior Manager Adrian Griffith – Umpires and Referees said the appointments were part of ICC’s policy of nurturing the best available talent in different countries. “We are proud to announce eight women Match Officials in our team for the tournament. We had six women Match Officials at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2020 and the steady upward path is as per our plans and keeping with our long-term vision”. 

Both Wilson and Polosak officiated at the 2017 World Cup in the United Kingdom, but for Sheridan, this year’s tournament in New Zealand will be her first appearance at a World Cup. Sheridan previously stood in a world event at the 2019 the ICC women’s world Twenty20 Qualifier in Scotland alongside Polosak. The three Australian umpires will make their first appearance in this tournament when Bangladesh play South Africa at the University Oval in Dunedin. Sheridan will stand alongside Zimbabwean umpire Langton Rusere, with Paul Wilson officiating in the Third Umpire’s chair and Claire Polosak fulfilling the Fourth Umpire duties. Wilson and Polosak will feature on-field for the first time when Bangladesh take on the hosts at the same venue two days later.

ICC Women’s World Cup Umpires
Lauren Agenbag – South Africa
Kim Cotton – New Zealand
Ahmad Shah Pakteen - Afghanistan
Ruchira Palliyaguruge – Sri Lanka
Claire Polosak - Australia
Suzanne Redfern - England
Langton Rusere - Zimbabwe
Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid - Bangladesh
Eloise Sheridan - Australia
Alexander Wharf - England
Jacqueline Williams – West Indies
Paul Wilson – Australia

ICC Women’s World Cup Match Referees
Gary Baxter – New Zealand
GS Lakshmi - India
Shandre Fritz – South Africa