Cricket Umpires Australia


WNCL Final Match Officials Appointments

25 March 2022

WNCL Final

Cricket Australia (CA) have announced the Match Officials team for the WNCL Final to be played between Tasmania and South Australia at Blundstone Arena on Sunday 27th March.

CA Supplementary Umpire Panel (SUP) members Simon Lightbody and Ben Treloar have been appointed on-field with Nathan Johnstone as Third Umpire. This is Lightbody’s second women’s domestic cricket Final this season having stood on-field in the Weber WBBL Final between the Perth Scorchers and the Adelaide Strikers back in November. This will be the first WNCL Final for Lightbody having first stood in this competition back in 2009/10. Lightbody has 15 First-Class and 11 men’s List-A matches to his name in addition to his 28 KFC BBL and 27 Weber WBBL matches.

For fellow SUP panelist Treloar, this year’s WNCL Final will be his second appearance in the season-decider having stood in the 2019/20 Final between New South Wales and Western Australia at North Sydney Oval. Treloar was first appointed to CA’s SUP in the lead up to the 2017/18 season and has since stood in all female and male major domestic cricket competitions. In 2019/20, Treloar was appointed on-field to the WBBL Final between the Brisbane Heat and the Adelaide Strikers at Allan Border Field in Brisbane.

Third Umpire Nathan Johnstone makes his third appearance in the WNCL Final having stood on-field in the 2017/18 and 2018/19 deciders between New South Wales and Western Australia at Blacktown, and New South Wales versus Queensland at North Sydney Oval respectively. CA Match Referee David Johnston will oversee proceedings with scorers Nathan Bester and Luke Meers rounding out the Match Officials Team.

WNCL Final – Tasmania vs South Australia
Sunday 27th March - 10.30am
Blundstone Arena, Hobart
Umpires: Simon Lightbody & Ben Treloar
Third Umpire: Nathan Johnstone
Match Referee: David Johnston
Scorers: Nathan Bester and Luke Meers