Cricket Umpires Australia


WNCL Final Match Official appointments announced

20 February 2018

WNCL Final

Congratulations to all Match Officials who have been appointed to the WNCL Final this Saturday.

The Lendlease NSW Breakers take on the Alcohol.Think Again Western Fury at Blacktown International Sports Park to determine the WNCL champion for season 2017-18. This is not only a great occasion for the players but also for six match officials who have earned their opportunity to perform on the big stage. The officials for the match will be umpires Darren Close and Nathan Johnstone on-field, Ben Treloar as third umpire, scorers Darren Mattison and Kay Wilcoxon, and match referee Bob Parry.

The appointment for all of these officials comes following their consistent performances in the season to date, both in women’s and men’s competitions. For the two on-field umpires – Close and Johnstone – the opportunity is an especially exciting one. They are both Development Umpire Panel members who are pushing for selection to the National Umpire Panel in the future. In recent seasons the umpire pairing for the WNCL Final has included at least one National Umpire Panel member each year so this appointment in indeed a nod to Close and Johnstone and a chance to prove their wares. The inclusion of a third umpire for these matches is also a sign of the rising profile of the WNCL competition and presents Treloar with a great opportunity, while for Mattison, Wilcoxon and Parry the appointment comes following their contributions to earlier domestic and international fixtures across the 2017-18 season. 

Previous five Finals:- 

Season   Venue Teams  Umpire 1  Umpire 2  Referee
 2016-17  AB Field QLD v NSW MW Graham-Smith  A Polosak  PL Marshall
 2015-16 Hurstville   NSW v SA SJ Nogajski AK Wilds SR Bernard
 2014-15  Blacktown NSW v SA GJ Davidson   DB Mealey  PL Marshall
 2013-14 Nth Sydney  NSW v VIC SAJ Craig MW Graham-Smith SR Bernard
 2012-13 SCG NSW v QLD DB Mealey AP Ward    RJ Evans