Cricket Umpires Australia


Weber WBBL|07 Final Match Officials

26 November 2021

wbbl final

Cricket Australia (CA) have announced the Match Officials team who will officiate in the Final of the Weber WBBL|07 between the Perth Scorchers and Adelaide Strikers at Optus Stadium in Perth.

CA Supplementary Umpire Panel members Nathan Johnstone and Simon Lightbody have been appointed on field whilst Claire Polosak has been appointed as Third Umpire for the Final. Western Australian State Umpire Panellist Trent Steenholdt will fulfil the Fourth Umpire duties. CA National Match Referee Kent Hannam will oversee the Final.

Originally hailing from the Nation’s Capital, this will be Lightbody’s first appointment to the Weber WBBL Final having previously stood on-field in the Semi-Final of the WBBL|05. Coincidentally, that Semi-Final was between the two teams competing for the title this weekend. To date, Lightbody has stood in 25 WBBL matches with a further 18 as Third Umpire, this tally includes three third umpire appointments to the Semi-Finals of WBBL|01, 03 and 04. Lightbody will be joined on field by Nathan Johnstone, also appointed to the Weber WBBL Final for the first time.

Western Australian Johnstone has stood on field in 20 Weber WBBL matches to date with a further seven matches as Third Umpire. Johnstone was in the Third Umpire’s chair for the other Semi-Final of WBBL|05. Johnstone brings with him domestic finals experience having previously officiated the WNCL Finals of 2017/18 and 2018/19. Fellow SUP member Claire Polosak will undertake Third Umpire duties for this year’s Final having stood on field in the previous two WBBL deciders.

The Weber WBBL Final will also be the first appearance in the season decider for Match Referee Kent Hannam. Hannam has officiated in all seven iterations of the WBBL and has a total of 68 matches to his name so far. Hannam has been particularly prominent in this and last year’s tournament officiating throughout the Sydney Hub last season, then travelling the width and breadth of Australia this season.

Keeping up the theme of firsts, Western Australian umpire Trent Steenholdt is appointed Fourth Umpire to the Final whilst scorers Sue Rodgers and Sandy Wheeler have been appointed official scorers. Congratulations to all match officials involved.

Weber WBBL|07 – THE FINAL, Saturday 27th November 2021, 4.10pm
Perth Scorchers Vs Adelaide Strikers – Optus Stadium, Perth
Umpires: Simon Lightbody & Nathan Johnstone
Third Umpire: Claire Polosak
Fourth Umpire: Trent Steenholdt
Match Referee: Kent Hannam
Scorers: Sue Rodgers and Sandy Wheeler