Cricket Umpires Australia


WACA Premier Cricket Grand Final Match Officials

03 April 2019

Nathan Johnstone

The 2018/19 WACA Premier Cricket season concluded over the weekend with all four Grand Finals being played.

Twelve of Western Australia’s top umpires were appointed to officiate the weekend’s games. Cricket Australia (CA) Supplementary Umpire Panel (SUP) member Nathan Johnstone and WACA Premier Umpire Panel member Todd Rann stood in the First Grade Final between the Rockingham-Mandurah and Claremont-Nedlands Cricket Clubs at the WACA Ground. Daniel Skinn fulfilled the Reserve Umpire duties. The same three umpires have now officiated the last three consecutive WACA First Grade Grand Finals.

Johnstone has now officiated in the last seven WACA First Grade Grand Finals. On the domestic front, Johnstone made his Sheffield Shield debut when Western Australia played Victoria at the WACA Ground in Round 1 and officiated in the other four professional competitions. Johnstone was appointed to the Final of the WNCL and also stood in the KFC BBL08, Rebel WBBL04, JLT One-Day Cup and Toyota Futures League fixtures.

It has been a milestone season for WACA Umpire Rann who earlier this season went passed 500 Premier Cricket matches, a remarkable achievement. Rann is the current games record holder in WACA Premier Cricket and is a Life Member of the Western Australian Cricket Umpires Association.

Full list of Matches and Umpire Appointments below. Click on matches to view scores.

Premier First Grade Grand Final
Rockinham-Mandurah v Claremont-Nedlands – 30 & 31 March 2019: WACA Ground
Umpires: Nathan Johnstone & Todd Rann (Reserve Umpire: Daniel Skinn)

Premier Second Grade Grand Final
Perth v Mount Lawley – 30 & 31 March 2019: Breckler Park
Umpires: Trent Steenholdt & James Hewitt (Reserve Umpire: John Sherry)

Premier Third Grade Grand Final
Bayswater-Morley v Perth – 30 & 31 March 2019: Iluka Sports Complex (Oval 1)
Umpires: Dean Trigg & Ashlee Gibbons (Reserve Umpire: Ahmad Khan)

Premier Fourth Grade Grand Final
Freemantle v Joondalup – 30 & 31 March 2019: Iluka Sports Complex (Oval 2)
Umpires: Jarryd Buscall & Chaapa Pelpola (Reserve Umpire: Michael Kovalevs)