Cricket Umpires Australia


Western Australia Cricket Umpire Awards and Finals

12 April 2017

WA Panel

The Western Australia Cricket Association held their Annual Olly Cooley Medal count and Presentation on 7 April.

Among the awards announced were the Premier Umpires of the Year from each Grade. Nathan Johnstone and Amanda Williams took out the respective Male and Female First Grade Umpire of the Year Awards, while Jack Paterson won the Peter McConnell Medal as Most Promising Umpire. Congratulations to all award winners.

Full List of Award Winners

• 1st Grade Umpire of the Year - Nathan Johnstone

• 2nd Grade Umpire of the Year – Michael Kovalevs

• 3rd Grade Umpire of the Year – Daniel Smith

• 4th Grade Umpire of the Year – Stephen O’Dea

• Female competitions Umpire of the Year – Amanda Williams 

• Peter McConnell Medal Winner – Most Promising Umpire – Jack Paterson


First Grade Finals

Joondalup v Subiaco Floreat

Umpires: Nathan Johnstone and Todd Rann (Reserve: Daniel Skinn)


Western Australia

Second Grade

Joondalup v Willetton

Umpires: Trent Steenholdt and James Hewitt (Reserve: John Sherry)


Western Australia

Third Grade

Perth v Wanneroo Districts

Umpires: Hennie Botes and Wayne Barron (Reserve: Fred Davis)


Western Australia

Fourth Grade

Subiaco Floreat v Claremont-Nedlands

Umpires: Neil Holland and Andrew Micenko (Reserve: Chaapa Pelpola)


Female A Grade

South Perth v Midland-Guildford

Umpires: Ashlee Kovalevs and Amanda Williams


Female B Grade

Midland-Guildford v Melville

Umpires: Steve Rose and Andrew Jones