Cricket Umpires Australia


Victoria Premier Cricket Grand Finals

03 April 2019

Geoff Joshua

Victorian Premier Cricket’s First Grade Grand Final will commence this Friday with two Cricket Australia (CA) National Umpire Panel (NUP) members appointed to officiate.

Geoff Joshua and Phil Gillespie will stand in the First Grade Final between the Carlton and Geelong Cricket Clubs at CitiPower Centre St Kilda. The three-day fixture sees both Joshua and Gillepsie officiate their fourth First Grade Grand Final, the latter consecutively. CA Supplementary Umpire Panel member David Shepard is appointed Reserve Umpire.

Joshua has been heavily involved in the major CA competitions this season standing in a total of six JLT Sheffield Shield matches, 10 KFC BBL08 matches as well as the early season JLT One-Day Cup matches. Joshua surpassed two significant milestones along the way standing in his 50th First-Class Match when South Australia played Queensland at the Adelaide Oval, remarkably the same venue he debuted. Joshua also stood in his 50th Domestic T20 Match when the Adelaide Strikers played the Melbourne Renegades, also at the Adelaide Oval.

Gillespie has officiated across several competitions this season both International and Domestic. Back in September and October, Gillespie stood in the Women’s T20 Internationals between Australia and New Zealand and again in February for the Women’s One-Day Internationals between the Trans-Tasman rivals. On the Domestic front, Gillespie stood in the JLT Sheffield Shield and Domestic One-Day Cup before stepping out in the KFC BBL08. The Victorian Premier Cricket First-Grade Final is being played a week later than other competitions around the country with Cricket Victoria implementing a new Top-8 Finals Series. The match can be live streamed here.

Full list of Matches and Umpire Appointments below. Click on matches to view scores.

Premier First Grade Grand Final
Carlton v Geelong – 5, 6, 7 April 2019: CitiPower Centre
Umpires: Geoff Joshua & Phil Gillespie (Reserve Umpire: David Shepard)

Premier Second Grade Grand Final
St Kilda def by Melbourne University – 30, 31 March 2019: Albert Ground
Umpires: Michael Nolan & Russell Turner (Reserve Umpire: Tim Wendelken)

Premier Third Grade Grand Final
Melbourne University def Footscray – 30 & 31 March 2019: Merv Hughes Oval
Umpires: Malcolm Gunn & Lisa McCabe (Reserve Umpire: Glenn Schache)

Premier Fourth Grade Grand Final
Carlton drew with Essendon – 30 & 31 March 2019: Windy Hill
Umpires: Andre Conradie & Jeff Diamond-Smith (Reserve Umpire: Malcolm Wood)