Cricket Umpires Australia


Victoria Cricket Umpire Awards & Premier Finals

24 May 2017

VIC Final

The Victorian Cricket Association Umpires & Scorers Association held their end of season awards dinner on 19 May.

The event celebrated all the award winners from the season. Highlights from the event included a presentation from Cricket Victoria board member Tim Considine and the crowning of the First XI Umpire of the Year Geoff Joshua.

Full list of award winners

• Cricket Victoria Umpire Service Recognition Award – Eric Kelly

• Jim Phillips First XI Award – Geoff Joshua

• Dave Elder Second XI Award – Russell Hubbard

• Ron Wright Third XI Award – Chris Grant

• Andre Barlow Fourth XI Award – Sydney Sykstus

• Cameron Medal Scorer of the Year Award – Alan Britton (Monash Tigers CC)


Full list of Premier Finals Umpire Appointments and results

Victorian Men’s Premier Firsts

Fitzroy Doncaster v Melbourne

Umpires: Phil Gillespie and Geoff Joshua (Reserve: Ash Barrow)


Victorian Men’s Premier Seconds

Frankston Peninsula v Essendon

Umpires: Rod McKinnon and Russell Hubbard (Reserve: Mattis van Eck)


Victorian Men’s Premier Thirds

St Kilda v Geelong

Umpires: Tony Medina and Chris Grant (Reserve Gerry Schembri)


Victorian Men’s Premier Fourths

Monash Tigers v Carlton

Umpires: William Downey and Sydney Sykstus (Andrew Hind)


Victorian Women’s Premier Firsts

Premiers: Essendon Maribyrnong Park

Umpires: Greg Azzopardi and Jason Leonard-Scott (Reserve: Russell Turner)

Scorers: Robyn Calder and Donna Schilov


Victorian Women’s Premier Reserves

Premiers: Melbourne

Umpires: Matthew Robertson and Jamie Wyatt (Reserve: Richard Harrison)


Victorian Women’s Premier Seconds

Premiers: Carlton-Brunswick

Umpires: Mohan Nair and Paul Welbourn (Reserve: Jason Mistry)