Cricket Umpires Australia


Victoria Cricket Umpire Awards

16 May 2022


The Victorian Cricket Association Umpires & Scorers Association have announced their 2021/22 season awards at their Annual Presentation night earlier this month.

Cricket Australia (CA) National Umpire Panel (NUP) member Phil Gillespie was among the list of award winners announced by the Association. Gillespie won the Ray Isherwood Representative Umpire of the Year for the second year running time. The award capped off a massive season of achievement for Gillespie who received the CA Umpire Award amongst other honours. The prestigious Robin Bailhache Commitment Award went to former NUP member Ash Barrow for his fine contribution off the field to cricket umpiring in Victoria. Barrow has been instrumental in mentoring up and coming umpires at Premier level since retiring from representative cricket. Cricket Victoria State & Territory Umpire Panel member Daryl Brigham won the Jim Phillips Medal as the season’s best umpire in Premier Cricket’s First Grade for the second year running whilst Cricket Victoria recognised fellow state panellist Greg Azzopardi with the Umpiring Service Recognition Award.

Full list of award winners
Robin Bailhache Commitment Award – Ash Barrow
Ray Isherwood Representative Umpire of the Year – Phil Gillespie
Jim Phillips First XI Award – Daryl Brigham
VCAUSA Women’s Premier 1st XI Umpire of the Year Award: Sarah Fishley
Dave Elder Second XI Award – Patrick Matthews
VCAUSA Women’s Premier 2nd XI Umpire of the Year Award: Nick Davies
Ron Wright Third XI Award – Adrian McMaster
VCAUSA Women’s Premier 3rd XI Umpire of the Year Award: Jack Lourie
Andrew Barlow Fourth XI Award – Mark Philipson
Cameron Medal for Scorer of the Year: Joanne Radley (St Kilda Cricket Club)
Cricket Victoria Umpiring Service Recognition Award: Greg Azzopardi
Alan McCarthy VCAUSA/CV Scholarship: Malcolm Wood