Cricket Umpires Australia


Under 17 National Championships Finals

05 October 2017

U17 Match Officials

New South Wales Metro and Queensland will today play off in the Final of the Under 17 Male National Championships at Allan Border Field in Brisbane.

The two umpires for the Final will be Ryan Nelson and Muhammad Qureshi with former Test umpire Steve Davis overseeing proceedings as Match Referee.

For New South Welshman Ryan Nelson, this is his second Cricket Australia National Tournament having officiated in the SSA 15 Years and Under National Championships earlier this year in Brisbane. Nelson was also appointed to the Final of that tournament. Nelson’s journey through the Sydney Premier Cricket began back in the 2014/15 season in the Third Grade and has progressed quickly. Within a year he was standing in his first Sydney Premier First Grade match in December 2015. Prior to this season, Nelson has officiated in 33 Sydney Premier Matches, 16 of them in the First Grade.

Muhammad Quereshi originally hails from the Sydney Premier Competition but has since moved to Tasmania where he has impressed with the standard of his umpiring. Qureshi began umpiring in the Sydney Premier Competition in the 2009/10 season and made his First-Grade Debut in March 2012. Qureshi became a regular First Grade umpire in 2013/14 and was appointed to the Under 17 Male National Championships the following season. Qureshi relocated to the Apple Isle prior to the 2015/16 season. He was appointed to last season’s Under 18 Female National Championships and stood in the Final of that tournament in Hobart.

Details of the Final Round of Matches:

NSW Metro v Queensland at Allan Border Field

Umpires: Ryan Nelson, Muhammad Qureshi

Match Referee: Steve Davis

CA XI v South Australia at Marist College 

Umpires: Dinusha Bandara, Steve Dionysius

Match Referee: Bob Parry 

ACT / NSW Country v Western Australia at Churchie School

Umpires: Murray Branch, Luke Uthenwoldt

Match Referee: Neil Findlay 

VIC Country v Northern Territory at Fred Kratzman - Redlands

Umpires: Roberto Howard, John Ward

Match Referee: Ian Thomas

VIC Metro v Tasmania at Ian Healy Oval - Northern Suburbs

Umpires: Dale Ireland, Ashlee Kovalevs

Match Referee: Kent Hannam

Today’s final is being live streamed through and can be viewed here