Cricket Umpires Australia


International flavor for CA Under 18 Female National Championships

10 January 2019

Mary Waldron

Irish International and South Australian Premier Umpire Panel member Mary Waldron will be among a dozen Match Officials appointed to the Under 18 Female National Championships to be held in Bendigo and Ballarat, Victoria.

Waldron’s cricketing journey is intertwined between playing and umpiring. Waldron has represented Ireland in 40 Women’s One-Day Internationals and 47 Women’s T20 matches to date with the most recent being in the Women’s T20 World Cup in the West Indies. Waldron continues to ply her trade during the northern summer returning to Australia to umpire during the Australian summer.
The wicket-keeper-turn umpire has been officiating in the SACA Premier Cricket competition for the past two seasons and among her many underage appointments, has stood in all four senior men’s grades in all three formats. Prior to that, Waldron played and umpired in the Tasmania Premier Cricket system, first arriving in the Apple Isle in 2014. Waldron achieved a significant milestone making her List-A Debut in a match between Ireland A and Bangladesh A men’s teams in Dublin in August this year. This year’s tournament will be Waldron’s second appearance having stood on-field in Canberra last year.

Waldron and West Australian umpire Kirsten Funston’s appointments to these National Championships is reflective of an increase in female representation across the country with a record number of females appointed to CA and State and Territory Umpire Panels in season 2018-19.

The CA Under 18 Female National Championships is the flagship competition in the Female Pathway. The tournament returns to Ballarat again after first hosting in 2014.
Under 18 Female National Championships Match Officials

• Joshua Adie | QLD
• Dhaval Bhatt | SA
• Sam Burns | TAS
• Jarryd Buscall | WA
• Darren Foster |NSW
• Kirsten Funston | WA
• Dale Ireland |VIC
• Kieran Knight | NSW
• Andrew Scotford | ACT
• Mary Waldron | SA 

Tournament Referees
• Neil Findlay
• Steve Davis