Cricket Umpires Australia


Under 15 Male National Championships Final

14 February 2019

U15s Final

The Cricket Australia (CA) Male National Championships concludes with the Final to be played between Queensland and New South Wales Magenta at the Kev Hackney Oval.

Congratulations to Tasmanian umpire Simon Burns and New South Welshman Vincent Calabro who have been appointed to the Final. For Burns, the appointment to the Final caps an excellent tournament to date. It has been a busy season to date with Premier Cricket commitments and underage State Championships in Tasmania dominating Burns’ summer. Burns commenced his umpiring career with Cricket Tasmania in 2010/11. In 2012/13, Burns officiated in the CA Under 17 Male National Championships in Tasmania and officiated in the CA Under 15 Female National Championships in 2015/16. He travelled to Sydney in the 2016/17 season to take part in the exchange program run between New South Wales and Tasmania. This year’s tournament is the second consecutive appearance for Burns at this level and his appointment to the Final is a measure of his progress.

For Calabro, today’s appointment is a significant step in his umpiring pathway. Calabro plied his trade in southern New South Wales before moving to Sydney to officiate Premier Cricket in 2016/17. Calabro debuted in the Sydney First Grade Competition in round one of that season. Calabro brought with him over a decade of umpiring experience from the Barooga Premier Division. Calabro officiated in the NSW Country Cricket Championships in 2015/16 and has been a top performer since moving to the Sydney Premier Cricket Competition. Calabro’s appointment to this season’s Under 15 Male National Championships is his first at a national level and is a testament to the umpiring talent identification system within Cricket New South Wales’ Match Officials team.

All ten of the Match Officials team on the Sunshine Coast have performed very well in sometimes challenging conditions. The mercury combined with the humidity of the Sunshine Coast has tested all players and Match Officials alike.

FINAL: Queensland v NSW Magenta - Kev Hackney Oval.
Umpires: Simon Burns & Vincent Calabro
Playoff Match: ACT/NSW Country v Victoria Country - Ron McMullin Oval
Umpires: Greg Azzopardi & Sharad Patel
Playoff Match: Victoria Metro v South Australia - John Blanck Oval
Umpires: Daniel Rosolen & Deanne Young
Playoff Match: NSW Green v Western Australia - Caloundra 1
Umpires: Nathan James & Luke Edwards
Playoff Match: Tasmania v Northern Territory - Caloundra 2
Umpires: Giorgio Profiris & Dean Trigg