Cricket Umpires Australia


David Taylor joins the Cricket Australia Supplementary Umpire Panel

02 July 2020

David Taylor

Queensland umpire David Taylor has been elevated to the Cricket Australia (CA) Supplementary Umpire Panel (SUP).

Taylor commenced his umpiring journey in the 2010/11 in the Sydney Grade competition after finishing his playing career. Taylor soon rose through the ranks and made his First-Grade debut in the first match of the 2011/12 season. Taylor’s progression in Grade Cricket continued before being appointed to the 2013/14 CA Under 17 Male National Championships. The following season, Taylor officiated in the first of his five Under 19 Male National Championships consecutively. Taylor was appointed to the Final of that tournament on three occasions in 2015/16, 2016/17 and 2018/19. Whilst in Sydney, Taylor was appointed to the New South Wales State Umpire Panel and stood in rebel WBBL, WNCL and State Second XI fixtures.

Prior to the 2016/17 season, Taylor relocated to the Gold Coast and joined the Queensland Premier Cricket Umpire Panel. In Queensland, Taylor continued his umpiring pathway being appointed to the State Umpire Panel, then participating in the Australian Institute of Sport National Officiating Scholarship program. The following season, Taylor participated in the first CA High Performance Officiating program at the National Cricket Centre (NCC) in Brisbane attaining High Performance Umpiring Accreditation. Whilst on the Queensland State Panel, Taylor continued to officiate in Toyota Second XI, WNCL and rebel WBBL matches. Taylor was also appointed as Fourth Umpire to KFC BBL matches throughout.

Towards the end of season 2019/20, Taylor was appointed to the England Lions four-day match against the New South Wales Second XI in Wollongong.  

In 2017/18 and 2018/19, Taylor stood in the Queensland Premier First Grade Finals and claimed his first Mel Johnson Medal from the Queensland Umpires and Scorers Association. Taylor is an active member of the Association sitting on the Board of Examination and Coaching providing expertise to the Queensland Umpiring Panel.

Taylor is one of six umpires appointed to the CA Supplementary Umpire Panel.

Cricket Australia Supplementary Umpire Panel

• Nathan Johnstone
• Simon Lightbody
• Troy Penman
• Claire Polosak
• David Taylor
• Ben Treloar