Cricket Umpires Australia


Tasmanian Premier Cricket Grand Final Match Officials

29 March 2019

The 2018/19 Tasmanian Premier Cricket Grand Finals concluded over the weekend with all Premier Grades in action for the title.

Cricket Australia (CA) National Umpire Panel (NUP) member Mike Graham-Smith and Supplementary Umpire Panel member Darren Close stood in the First Grade Final between the Clarence and Lindisfarne Cricket Clubs at Blundstone Arena. Graham-Smith stands in his sixth First-Grade Final whilst Close officiates his fourth.

Graham-Smith has officiated across five different competitions this season in addition to his Premier Cricket commitments. It started back in September with the JLT Cup and the Under 17 Male National Championships in Queensland as the team’s mentor umpire. Graham-Smith also stood in the JLT Sheffield Shield and KFC BBL08. In February, Graham-Smith took part in the annual umpire exchange program when he travelled to New Zealand to stand in the Plunkett Shield First-Class competition.

Close has had a similarly busy season officiating in Toyota Futures League, WNCL (including the Final) Rebel WBBL04 and KFC BBL08 as Fourth Umpire. Combined with his Premier Cricket commitments, Close was on-field for a remarkable 49 playing days. The remaining Premier Finals were officiated by First Grade Panel members.

Full list of Matches and Umpire Appointments below. Click on matches to view scores.

Premier First Grade Grand Final
Clarence v Lindisfarne – 29, 30, 31 March 2019: Blundstone Arena
Umpires: Mike Graham-Smith & Darren Close. Match Referee: David Johnston (Reserve Umpire: Craig Seabourne)

Premier Second Grade Grand Final
Kingborough v Lindisfarne – 30 & 31 March 2019: Kingston Twin Ovals
Umpires: Jerry Matibiri & Muhammad Qureshi

Premier Third Grade Grand Final
Brighton v Kingborough – 30 & 31 March 2019: Ferguson Park
Umpires: Greg Beechey & Jamie Mitchell

Premier Under 17’s Grand Final
Clarence v Kingborough – 30 & 31 March 2019: Kangaroo Bay Oval
Umpires: Simon Burns & Wade Stewart