Cricket Umpires Australia


2018-19 State and Territory Umpire Panels announced

16 August 2018


State and Territory Umpire Panels (STP) for season 2018/19 have been announced across the country

Thirty umpires have been selected by State and Territory Associations to join their respective Umpire Panels for the upcoming season.
Alongside Premier Cricket commitments, members of State and Territory Umpire Panels will be appointed to officiate in CA sanctioned competitions, including the rebel Women’s Big Bash League, Women’s National Cricket League; Toyota Futures League; CA Underage National Championships and as Fourth Umpires in the KFC Big Bash League.

Umpires appointed to respective State and Territory Umpire Panels have been identified as: 

  • The best performing umpires in their respective State or Territory
  • Possessing a strong congruence to the desired umpiring attributes
  • Having the potential to umpire at First Class level
  • Possibly having the potential to umpire at International level

State and Territory Umpire Panels will be complemented by the six Cricket Australia (CA) Supplementary Umpire Panel members across all formats. There are several new faces across the country, with some panels increasing in size to help service the increased number of matches scheduled for the season.

South Australia has appointed the first female representative to the SACA State Panel. Eloise Sheridan joins the South Australian Panel following a busy 2017-18 season which included appointment to both the CA Under 18 and CA Under 15 Female National Championships. Last season Sheridan made history by becoming the first female to umpire a SACA first-grade Premier men’s match. Her strong performances across the season led to her appointment to the SACA Premier men’s T20 Final at Adelaide Oval. Harsimran Singh also joins the State Panel for the first time having officiated in the Under 15 Male National Championships last season.

In New South Wales, Berend du Plessis, Andrew Hamilton and Roberto Howard have all been promoted this season. Howard was appointed to the CA Under 17 Male National Championships last season, whilst Du Plessis and Hamilton were part of the Match Officials team that oversaw the most recent Under 15 Male National Championships in Queensland.

Nathan James has been appointed to the Queensland State Panel for the first time. James was elevated to the State Panel following strong performances in the Queensland Premier Cricket competition and officiating the Under 15 Male National Championships for the past two seasons.

Victoria has added two new umpires to its State Panel, in Greg Azzopardi and Mattis van Eck.
Azzopardi officiated in the 2016-17 CA Under 18 Female National Championships in Hobart while van Eck travelled to Queensland last season for the Under 15 Male National Championships. Both umpires have featured regularly in the Victorian Premier First Grade Competition over the last three seasons.

Dean Trigg returns to the Western Australian Panel, having stood in his first women’s domestic fixture in 2009 and already having eight WNCL, 17 WT20 and two Futures League fixtures to his name.

The ACT and Tasmanian State Panels remain unchanged from last season.

Congratulations to all umpires appointed to their respective State Panels.

  • ACT | Dinusha Bandara, Andrew Crozier, Andrew Scotford and Deanne Young
  • New South Wales | Berend du Plessis, Andrew Hamilton, Roberto Howard, Ryan Nelson, Marc Nickl, Troy Penman, Claire Polosak* and Ben Treloar*
  • Queensland | Stephen Dionysius, Steven Farrell, Donovan Koch *, Nathan James, and David Taylor
  • South Australia | Harsimran Singh, Eloise Sheridan and Craig Thomas
  • Tasmania | Greg Beechey, Darren Close*, Muhammad Qureshi, Wade Stewart and Harvey Wolff
  • Victoria | Greg Azzopardi, Daryl Brigham, Dale Ireland, David Shepard* and Mattis van Eck
  • Western Australia | Ashlee Gibbons, James Hewitt, Nathan Johnstone *, Jack Paterson, Trent Steenholdt and Dean Trigg

*CA Supplementary Umpire Panel