Cricket Umpires Australia


Simon Fry named as CA Umpire Award recipient for unprecedented fourth time

31 March 2017

Simon Fry - Umpire of the Year

Simon Fry has been named the 2016/17 Cricket Australia Umpire of the Year for a fourth successive season

Awarded annually, the Cricket Australia Umpire Award is presented to an ICC Elite Panel or Cricket Australia National Panel Umpire adjudged all-round most outstanding, with consideration not only to an umpire’s on-field performance but also their contribution to elite umpiring in Australia by way of significant achievement or off-field work.

Fry joined the Cricket Australia National Umpire Panel in 2005/06 and at the close of the 2016/17 Australian cricket summer season has stood in a total of:-

  • Five Test Matches (four of which in the past 12 months)
  • 31 One-Day Internationals (14 further Third Umpire appointments)
  • 12 T20 Internationals (8 further Third Umpire appointments)
  • 86 First Class Matches (66 Sheffield Shield)

In March 2016, Fry was appointed by the ICC to the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup. Held across India, he stood in three games and was appointed to two further fixtures as Third Umpire. He was also Third Umpire for the Sri Lankan and West Indian men’s match.

Only days after standing in a four-day Australia A game in Townsville in August, Fry travelled to the United Kingdom for six One-Day Internationals. The Series featured a one-off fixture between England and Ireland in Dublin before the five-match Series against Pakistan commenced in Southampton. This was a significant Series for international cricket with the trialling of new no-ball technology that was controlled by the Third Umpire. Fry was in fact the first umpire to call a no-ball following Third Umpire Marais Erasmus’ intervention through a ‘pager’ watch being worn by Fry on-field

Throughout October Fry officiated in the domestic Matador One-Day Cup tournament, before his next international stint at the end of the month. Travelling to Zimbabwe, Fry stood in two Tests between the home nation and Sri Lanka. His next assignment came only a couple of weeks later, when he officiated in the New Zealand versus Pakistan Test Series in Christchurch and Hamilton.

Fry’s true dedication to umpiring was evident when he was called up for a Test at late notice to replace the injured Paul Reiffel in India. With only a days’ notice, the South Australian was on a plane to Melbourne to apply for a visa and then straight back to the airport to depart for India. Following his Test appointment in Chennai, Fry returned directly to Melbourne to prepare for his first KFC Big Bash League fixture of the season only one night later. In total, he stood in four BBL games, and oversaw proceedings in another two games from the Third Umpire chair.

Towards the end of January Fry turned his attention to the Victoria Bitter One-Day International Series between Australia and Pakistan before the KFC T20 international Series against Sri Lanka in February, where he officiated in the first ever international game at Kardinia Park.

Due to his busy international commitments, Fry has only been appointed to two preliminary round Sheffield Shield matches this season. However, his first game in February was alongside debutant Simon Lightbody in Hobart. Fittingly, Fry also partnered T20 international debutant Sam Nogajski at Kardinia Park. Fry’s experience, knowledge and positive persona around the Playing Control Team (PCT) made him the obvious appointment choice for these milestone matches.

Currently returning from Alice Springs where he officiated in the Sheffield Shield Final, Fry will travel in the coming days to the West Indies for the upcoming West Indies versus Pakistan One-Day International Series which he has been appointed to by the ICC.

The award, selected by the Cricket Australia Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, is based on consideration of the following criteria:-

  • On field performance
  • Demonstrated a high level of professionalism in their conduct throughout the year, both on and off field
  • Significant development and improvement in performance on-field
  • Significant achievement in umpiring throughout the year
  • Contribution to the Australian umpiring community through off-field activities
  • Contribution to the Australian cricket community in general
  • Sets an example of what it is to be a cricket umpire to the rest of the cricket and umpiring community


Previous winners

  • Simon Fry - 2015/16
  • Simon Fry - 2014/15
  • Simon Fry - 2013/14
  • Bruce Oxenford - 2012/13
  • Simon Taufel - 2011/12
  • Bruce Oxenford - 2010/11
  • Steve Davis - 2009/10
  • Paul Reiffel - 2008/09
  • Bruce Oxenford - 2007/08
  • Daryl Harper - 2006/07
  • Simon Taufel - 2005/06
  • Peter Parker - 2004/05
  • Simon Taufel - 2003/04