Cricket Umpires Australia


Simon Fry makes List-A Match Referee Debut

02 March 2021

Simon Fry

Cricket Australia (CA) Match Referee Panel (MRP) member Simon Fry will officiate his first List-A match as a Match Referee when Western Australia play South Australia in the Marsh One Day Cup match at the WACA Ground.

As an umpire, Fry stood in 100 First-Class matches, 75 of which were Sheffield Shield fixtures, and impressively seven Shield Finals. In October 2015, Fry officiated the first of his seven Test Matches. Fry made his One-Day International debut in January 2011 and has 49 matches to his name. In the shortest format, Fry has stood in 19 men’s and four women’s T20 Internationals. The latter appointments included standing in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in India

Over a four-year period, Fry was named the CA Umpire of the Year. Awarded annually, the CA Umpire Award is presented to an ICC Elite Panel or Cricket Australia National Panel Umpire adjudged all-round most outstanding, with consideration not only to an umpire’s on-field performance but also their contribution to elite umpiring in Australia by way of significant achievement or off-field work. Fry was selected by the CA Chair and CEO for this award between 2013/14 to 2016/17

In Australian Domestic One Day Cup cricket, Fry stood in his first match 20 years ago in the match between South Australia and New South Wales at the Adelaide Oval in January 2001. Fry went on to stand in a total of 131 List-A matches which includes 49 One Day Internationals.

Fry stood in a total of four Finals consecutively in the Marsh Domestic One Day Cup competition from 2011/12 to 2014/15 inclusive. Fry retired from umpiring at the end of last season and joined the Cricket Australia Match Referee Panel this year.

Fry made his First-Class Match Referee debut in the Sheffield Shield match between South Australia and Victoria at Karen Rolton Oval, and his KFC BBL debut in Perth when the Perth Scorchers played the Melbourne Renegades earlier this season.

Standing in today’s match will be on-field umpires Nathan Johnstone and Donovan Koch with Sam Nogajski undertaking the Third Umpire duties.