Cricket Umpires Australia


Queensland Cricket Umpire Awards

30 April 2020

QLD Umpires

The Queensland Cricket Umpires & Scorers Association announced their 2019/20 Umpiring Awards last week.

The award winners were unable to be presented their awards at an official function due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Among the list of winners were Peter Boland who took out the prestigious Bob Spence Medal, whilst Steve Dionysius won the First-Grade Umpire of the Year. Boland topped a list of ten finalists to win the award for a record fifth time (2019/20, 2018/19, 2016/17, 2013/14 & 2007/08). Dionysius had an excellent season both at Premier and National Championships level. Dionysius was appointed with Steve Farrell to the Final of the Under 19 Male National Championships at the WACA Ground in Perth.

Full list of award winners

• Bob Spence Medal – Peter Boland
• First Grade Umpire of the Year – Steve Dionysius
• Second Grade Umpire of the Year – Robert Dunbar
• Third Grade Umpire of the Year – Martin McLay
• Fourth Grade Umpire of the Year – Ray Marsh
• Fifth Grade Umpire of the Year – Deepak Balakrishnan
• Sixth Grade Umpire of the Year – Terry Pascoe
• Women’s Premier Umpire of the Year – Ross Howard
• Mel Johnson Medal – Bradley Smith
• Col Timmins Award - (Progression) Steven Armstrong
• Col Hoy Award - (New Umpire Encouragement) Declan Hunt
• Patron's Award - Tony Cupitt

Bob Spence Medal Finalists:

• Ian Barsby
• Peter Boland
• Steve Farley
• Ben Farrell
• Ross Howard
• Vivek Kumar
• Damien McAndrew
• Michael Mellifont
• Ross Standen
• Murray White

Click here for full coverage of the QCUSA season awards