Cricket Umpires Australia


Polosak and Wilson appointed to ICC Women’s World Cup

19 June 2017

Claire Polosak - ICC Women's World Cup

Two Australian umpires have been appointed to matches at the 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup in England

National Umpire Panel member Paul Wilson and Development Umpire Panel member Claire Polosak, both from New South Wales, will each officiate as an on-field umpire in four matches throughout the round-robin stages.

Polosak is set to stand on the opening day of the tournament, in the match between New Zealand and Sri Lanka on 24 June in Somerset, while Wilson’s first on-field appointment will come on 28 June, in the match between South Africa and New Zealand at Derby.

Cricket Australia’s Match Officials Manager, Sean Easey, said:

“This is a fantastic opportunity for both Claire and Paul to showcase their skills on the international stage,” Easey said.

“They have proven their ability to perform under pressure time and time again, both in domestic cricket in Australia and through their various international appointments, and their selection for the 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup is reward for their effort and consistency in recent seasons.

“We look forward to watching Claire and Paul represent our umpiring team at this event, and wish them the very best for their respective matches.”

Wilson is a member of the Emirates International Panel of ICC Umpires, while Polosak is a member of the ICC Development Panel of ICC Umpires.

It will be the second time Polosak will umpire at a major ICC event, after featuring at the 2016 ICC Women’s World T20. Held in India, she stood in three fixtures and was appointed to a further game as TV Umpire. Polosak was also appointed to the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers in Thailand in December 2015, as well as the ICC Women’s Cup Qualifying Series (East Asia-Pacific Region) in Samoa in July 2016.

Season 2016/17 was busy for Polosak, including appointment to the Women’s Championship fixtures between Australia and South Africa in Canberra and Sydney throughout November. Soon after she was appointed to the WNCL Final in Brisbane between Queensland and New South Wales in December before turning her attention to the WBBL|02. In January Polosak was appointed as TV Umpire in the BBL fixture between Hobart and Adelaide – the first female to officiate at this level.

Polosak travelled to Sri Lanka in February to officiate in the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifiers, with her strong performances culminating in an appointment to the Final between India and South Africa. Returning to Australian shores, Polosak finished her long season in Hobart where she was appointed to the Australia versus Pakistan Under 19 men’s series throughout April.

Former international cricketer Wilson joined the National Umpire Panel in 2010-11 and not long after was appointed in a rare Women’s Ashes Test in January 2011 in Sydney. He then made his (men’s) One-Day International debut in Townsville in the fixture between Hong Kong and Papua New Guinea in November 2014. Since that time he’s stood in five further One-Day Internationals (further two as TV Umpire) and four T20 Internationals (further three as TV Umpire).

Last season Wilson completed a rare treble by standing in all three domestic competition finals, including the Matador One-Day Cup Final in Sydney (October 2016); KFC BBL T20 Final in Perth (January 2017) and the Sheffield Shield Final in Alice Springs (March 2017). The Shield Final completed a busy Australian summer for Wilson, where he fulfilled 37 appointments across all domestic and international formats. This included the One-Day International Series between Australia and New Zealand before Christmas as well as the Australia versus Pakistan Series in January. Wilson then closed his international season in February with his appointment to the T20 International Series between Australia and Sri Lanka.

On a domestic scene, Wilson has officiated in 49 First Class; 32 Domestic One-Day (further 12 as TV Umpire) and 40 (further 17 as TV Umpire) KFC BBL matches.

The ICC tournament will be played throughout England and Wales culminating with the Final to be held at Lords on 23 July.

For more information on the ICC Women’s World Cup please click here