Cricket Umpires Australia


CA Umpire Award for Paul Wilson

21 March 2018

Paul Wilson - CA Umpire of the Year

Congratulations to Paul Wilson who has received the 2017/18 Cricket Australia Umpire Award for the first time

Awarded annually, the Cricket Australia Umpire Award is presented to an ICC Elite Panel or Cricket Australia National Panel Umpire adjudged all-round most outstanding, with consideration not only to an umpire’s on-field performance but also their contribution to elite umpiring in Australia by way of significant achievement or off-field work.

Wilson joined the Cricket Australia National Umpire Panel in 2010/11 and at the close of the 2017/18 Australian cricket summer season has stood in a total of:-

  • 11 One-Day Internationals (2 further Third Umpire appointments)
  • 8 T20 Internationals (4 further Third Umpire appointments)
  • 52 First Class Matches (39 Sheffield Shield games)

It has been a breakout year at the international level for Wilson who has been recognised with several ICC appointments this season. In June and July 2017, Wilson stood in the ICC Women’s World Cup in England which culminated in appointment to the Final at Lord’s as Third Umpire. He returned to the international scene when appointed to the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup in New Zealand in January 2018. Most recently, Wilson’s international commitments have seen him travel to the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe where is currently on duty.

In February, he returned to New Zealand and stood in the second half of the T20 International Series between the hosts, Australia and England. Wilson’s domestic summer, although rarely available because of international appointments, included the JLT One-Day Cup (including appointment to the Final); JLT Sheffield Shield and KFC BBL|07. In November, he brought up his 50th First Class match at the WACA, coincidentally at the same venue as debut.

Off field, Wilson was nominated by his peers to represent senior domestic cricket umpires on the three-member CA Umpire Leadership Group. His achievement as an umpire are complemented with an illustrious playing career which yielded 51 First Class matches and 11 One-Day Internationals. This included 45 Sheffield Shield games; five Tour Matches, and his Test Match appearance in Calcutta in March 1998.

The award, selected by the Cricket Australia Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, is based on consideration of the following criteria:-

  • On field performance
  • Demonstrated a high level of professionalism in their conduct throughout the year, both on and off field
  • Significant development and improvement in performance on-field
  • Significant achievement in umpiring throughout the year
  • Contribution to the Australian umpiring community through off-field activities
  • Contribution to the Australian cricket community in general
  • Sets an example of what it is to be a cricket umpire to the rest of the cricket and umpiring community


Previous winners

  • Simon Fry 2016/17
  • Simon Fry 2015/16
  • Simon Fry 2014/15
  • Simon Fry 2013/14
  • Bruce Oxenford 2012/13
  • Simon Taufel 2011/12
  • Bruce Oxenford 2010/11
  • Steve Davis 2009/10
  • Paul Reiffel 2008/09
  • Bruce Oxenford 2007/08
  • Daryl Harper 2006/07
  • Simon Taufel 2005/06
  • Peter Parker 2004/05
  • Simon Taufel 2003/04