Cricket Umpires Australia


Paul Wilson wins CA Umpire Award for third year in a row

27 March 2020

Paul WIlson

Following a stellar season, including a Test Match debut and appointment to the ICC Cricket World Cup, sees Paul Wilson win the 2019/20 Cricket Australia (CA) Umpire Award for the third consecutive year.

Awarded annually, the CA Umpire Award is presented to an ICC Elite Panel or National Panel Umpire adjudged all-round most outstanding, with consideration not only to an umpire’s on-field performance but also their contribution to elite umpiring in Australia by way of significant achievement or off-field work. 

Wilson joined the Cricket Australia National Umpire Panel in 2010/11 and at the close of the 2019/20 Australian cricket summer season has stood in a total of:-

2 Test Matches (additional 2 Third Umpire Appointments)
30 One-Day Internationals (additional 12 Third Umpire appointments)
16 T20 Internationals (additional 7 Third Umpire appointments)
59 First Class Matches (43 Sheffield Shield games)

Following his elevation to the ICC Emerging Panel of Umpires in May 2018, Wilson has stood in matches across Bangladesh, India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, United Kingdom and the West Indies alongside his Australian domestic cricket commitments. 

Wilson was appointed by the ICC to the ICC Cricket World Cup in the United Kingdom throughout June/July 2019. Apart of the 16-person panel, he stood in five matches and was appointed to three further matches as Third Umpire across Birmingham, Bristol, Cardiff, Leeds, Southampton and Taunton. 

Within a couple of weeks of finishing his ICC Cricket World Cup duties, Wilson returned to England and made his Test Third Umpire debut at Lords. His appointment was part of the one-off Test Match between England and Ireland. 

Wilson made his most significant step on his umpiring pathway in September 2019 when he made his Test Match debut in the fixture between Bangladesh and Afghanistan in Chittagong. His second Test Match appointment came in late November, where he officiated in the New Zealand versus England fixture in Hamilton. As part of the same Series, Wilson was also Third Umpire for the game in Maunganui. 

In February 2020, Wilson traveled to Sri Lanka and officiated in the three-match One-Day International Series. There he was on-field for two matches, and the remaining in the Third Umpire box. Wilson added one further One-Day International to his tally, standing in the match between Australia and New Zealand at the SCG which turned out to be the last match of the season. 

Earlier in the 2019/20 season, Wilson stood in the two T20 International Series’ against visitors Sri Lanka and Pakistan across Adelaide, Brisbane, Melbourne, Sydney and Perth. 

In domestic cricket, Wilson officiated in two Marsh One-Day Cup fixtures in Sydney and one Marsh Sheffield Shield match in Perth. In the shortest format he was appointed to 12 KFC BBL|09 matches, which included the rain affected final between the Sydney Sixers and Melbourne Stars at the SCG. 

Off-field, Wilson continues to serve on the member appointed Umpire Leadership Group (ULG), charged with being the conduits between the umpiring group and Cricket Australia.
The award, selected by the Cricket Australia Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, is based on consideration of the following criteria:- 
On field performance
Demonstrated a high level of professionalism in their conduct throughout the year, both on and off field
Significant development and improvement in performance on-field
Significant achievement in umpiring throughout the year
Contribution to the Australian umpiring community through off-field activities 
Contribution to the Australian cricket community in general
Sets an example of what it is to be a cricket umpire to the rest of the cricket and umpiring community

Previous winners
Paul Wilson   2018/19
Paul Wilson 2017/18
Simon Fry 2016/17
Simon Fry 2015/16
Simon Fry 2014/15
Simon Fry 2013/14
Bruce Oxenford 2012/13
Simon Taufel 2011/12
Bruce Oxenford 2010/11
Steve Davis 2009/10
Paul Reiffel 2008/09
Bruce Oxenford 2007/08
Daryl Harper 2006/07
Simon Taufel 2005/06
Peter Parker 2004/05
Simon Taufel 2003/04