Cricket Umpires Australia


Cricket Australia 2022/23 Umpire Panels Announced

23 May 2022

Panel Announcement

Cricket Australia (CA) has announced the National and Supplementary umpire panels for the 2022/23 Season.

The structure of both the National Umpire Panel (NUP) and Supplementary Umpire Panel (SUP) has reverted to 12 on the NUP and six on the SUP. The last two seasons saw the panels structured as 11 NUP, seven SUP.

Among the changes to the panels announced by CA, NUP member Phil Gillespie has been elevated to the ICC International Panel of Umpires for season 2022/23. Gillespie had an outstanding 2021/22 season officiating in all three male domestic cricket Finals, standing on-field in two of those. Gillespie made his Women’s Test Match Debut when Australia played India in the Day/Night Test at Metricon Stadium on the Gold Coast and was most recently named as the recipient of the CA Umpire Award for 2021/22.

West Australian umpire Nathan Johnstone has been elevated to the CA NUP having been a member of the SUP (formerly Development Umpire Panel) since the 2017/18 season. In his five seasons on the SUP, Johnstone made debuts in First-Class and KFC BBL competitions having already made his List-A debut in December 2010. Johnstone officiated in this season’s Weber WBBL and WNCL Finals.

Simon Lightbody returns to the NUP following three seasons on the SUP. Lightbody also officiated in the WBBL and WNCL Finals alongside Johnstone. Lightbody was an original member of the CA Development Umpire Panel when it was established in the lead up to the 2015/16 season. Lightbody was elevated to the NUP prior to the 2017/18 season and returns having officiated in all CA major competitions over that time.

Ben Treloar has also been elevated to the NUP for 2022/23 following five seasons on the SUP. Treloar made on-field debuts in First-Class, List-A and the KFC BBL in that time and joined the SUP in the same season as Johnstone. Alongside Johnstone and Lightbody, Treloar officiated in the WNCL Final between Tasmania and South Australia at Blundstone Arena in Hobart.

Queensland Umpire Steve Dionysius and New South Welshman Sharad Patel have both been appointed by CA to the SUP for the first time. Both have served on their respective State Umpire Panels (STUP) for several seasons and are elevated to CA’s SUP for the 2022/23 season.

2021/22 Cricket Australia National Umpire Panel
Gerard Abood
Shawn Craig
Greg Davidson
Phil Gillespie
Mike Graham-Smith
Nathan Johnstone
Donovan Koch
Simon Lightbody
Sam Nogajski
Bruce Oxenford
Ben Treloar
Paul Wilson 

2021/22 Cricket Australia Supplementary Umpire Panel
Steve Dionysius
Sharad Patel
Troy Penman
Claire Polosak
Eloise Sheridan
David Taylor

Click here for more information