Cricket Umpires Australia


Cricket Australia umpire panels announced for 2019-20

09 May 2019


Cricket Australia (CA) has announced its umpire panels for the 2019-20 season.

The umpiring group comprises of two panels – a 12-member National Umpire Panel (NUP) and a six-member Supplementary Umpire Panel (SUP). There has been one change to the NUP and two changes to the SUP from 2018-19

Queenslander Donovan Koch has been elevated to the NUP in season 2019-20. Koch joined the SUP in season 2016-17 and made his First-Class, List-A and men’s Domestic T20 debuts in season 2017-18.

A former First-Class cricketer from South Africa, Koch played and umpired in the English system before relocating to Australia in 2012. Since commencing in the Queensland Premier Cricket competition, Koch has been appointed to the Cricket Australia Under 19 Male and Under 17 Male National Championships

Koch has officiated on-field in four First-Class, three Domestic One-Day Cup, four WNCL, seven men’s Domestic T20 and 13 women’s Domestic T20 matches.

Simon Lightbody (New South Wales) will return to the SUP in 2019-20. Since his First-Class debut in February 2017, Lightbody has officiated in 12 First-Class, seven Domestic One-Day Cup, three WNCL,16 men’s Domestic T20 and 19 women’s Domestic T20 matches.

David Shepard (Victoria) has elected not to renew his SUP contract in 2019-20. He departs with two First-Class, one Domestic One-Day Cup, nine WNCL, one men’s Domestic T20 and 24 women’s Domestic T20 matches to his name.

Troy Penman (New South Wales) has been elevated to the SUP for the first time in 2019-20. 

2019-20 National Umpire Panel:

  • Gerard Abood (New South Wales)
  • Shawn Craig (Victoria)
  • Greg Davidson (New South Wales)
  • Simon Fry (South Australia)
  • Phil Gillespie (Victoria)
  • Mike Graham-Smith (Tasmania)
  • Geoff Joshua (Victoria)
  • Donovan Koch (Queensland)
  • Sam Nogajski (Tasmania)
  • John Ward (Victoria)
  • Tony Wilds (New South Wales)
  • Paul Wilson (New South Wales)

2019-20 Supplementary Umpire Panel:

  • Darren Close (Tasmania)
  • Nathan Johnstone (Western Australia)
  • Simon Lightbody (New South Wales)
  • Troy Penman (New South Wales)
  • Claire Polosak (New South Wales)
  • Ben Treloar (New South Wales)

The NUP primarily officiate in the Sheffield Shield, One-Day Cup and KFC Big Bash League competitions, while the SUP primarily officiate in the Women’s National Cricket League, Women’s Rebel Big Bash League, Toyota Futures League and CA Underage National Championships.

Cricket Australia’s Head of Cricket Operations Peter Roach said:

“Following strong performances since joining the Australian umpiring pathway in 2012, we welcome Donovan Koch to the National Umpire Panel. 

“Donovan has demonstrated his capabilities in four-day matches and shown his ability to manage the unique pressures associated with umpiring in the KFC Big Bash League in front of large crowds and TV audiences. 

“Matched with his experience as a former First-Class cricketer, Donovan is an exciting addition to the team. 

“We are delighted that Simon Lightbody will continue on the Supplementary Umpire Panel where he brings sound on-field and leadership experience to that group. 

“Unfortunately David Shepard has decided to not renew his Supplementary Umpire Panel contract this season. 

“We thank David for his service to our sport and wish him all the best in his future endeavours.

“We congratulate New South Wales’ Troy Penman on his elevation to the Supplementary Umpire Panel where he has performed consistently at Cricket Australia Under 19 Male National Championships, including officiating the final for the past two seasons. 

“Alongside his New South Wales Premier Cricket commitments, Troy has also performed strongly in Rebel WBBL and Toyota Futures League opportunities.

“Pleasingly, our umpires continue to excel on the international stage and we celebrated two men’s One-Day International debuts during season 2018-19. 

“Gerard Abood made his debut in November 2018 in Adelaide, whilst more recently Claire Polosak became the first female to officiate a men’s ODI, when she took to the field in Namibia in April.

“We are looking forward to watching Paul Wilson perform on the biggest international stage when he officiates throughout the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup. 

“This appointment by the ICC acknowledges that he is within the top 16 umpires globally. 

“We wish Paul, along with our other Australian representatives Bruce Oxenford, Paul Reiffel, Rod Tucker and David Boon, the best of luck for the tournament in the United Kingdom. 

“Considered internally as our ‘third team’, our umpires have the unique situation of having a touchpoint with every single CA sanctioned fixture. 

“I’d like to acknowledge the hard work and continual strive for excellence shown by our umpiring team. I also wish to acknowledge the important role that families and state/territory support networks provide to our team to ready them for the next level.”

Cricket Australia’s umpire panels are chosen by a selection panel consisting of Match Officials Manager Sean Easey, Match Referees Manager Matthew Hall and former ICC Elite Panel Umpire Steve Davis.

Confirmation of the National and Supplementary Match Referee Panels will be made in coming months.