Cricket Umpires Australia


NSW Cricket Umpire Awards and Finals

08 May 2018

Photo taken by Steven Smith

The New South Wales Umpires and Scorers Association recently held its Annual Dinner and Awards Presentation where several umpires and scorers were recognised for their outstanding performances in 2017-18.

Among the award winners were Sharad Patel who took out the George Borwick Memorial Award for Umpire of the Year. Vivek Solanki was awarded the Alan Marshall Medal for Most Outstanding First Year Umpire and Sue Woodhouse took out the Malcolm Gorham Scorers Award. Congratulations to all award winners from the season.

List of Award Winners

• George Borwick Memorial Award – Sharad Patel

• Ted Wykes Medal – Affiliated Association Award – John Pearce

• Kevin Pye Medal – Country Umpire of the Year – Graeme Glazebrook

• Alan Marshall Medal – Most Outstanding First Year Umpire – Vivek Solanki

• Malcolm Gorham Scorers Award – Sue Woodhouse

• NSW Premier Cricket Panel Awards – Darren Goodger (Panel 1), Sharad Patel (Panel 2), David Abbey (Panel 3) and Michael Meehan (Panel 4)


Full List of Premier Finals


NSW Premier Cricket First Grade

Premiers: Parramatta

Umpires: Gerard Abood and Greg Davidson (Reserve: Ryan Nelson)



NSW Premier Cricket Second Grade

Premiers: Northern District

Umpires: Simon Lightbody and Tony Wilds (Reserve: Glen Stubbings)



NSW Premier Cricket Third Grade

Premiers: Sydney University

Umpires: Darren Goodger and Ben Treloar



NSW Premier Cricket Fourth Grade

Premiers: Manly Warringah

Umpires: Andrew Hamilton and Troy Penman



NSW Premier Cricket Fifth Grade

Premiers: Manly Warringah

Umpires: Roberto Howard and Marc Nickl



Women’s First Grade

Premiers: Universities

Umpires: Sathish Kumar and Bob McGregor



Women’s Second Grade

Premiers: Parramatta

Umpires: Gerry Forliano and John Colwell



Women’s Third Grade

Premiers: Bankstown

Umpires: Victor Gauci and John Colwell