Cricket Umpires Australia


David Gilbert and Kepler Wessels join CA Supplementary Referee Panel

22 June 2018

06-210618 - Kepler Wessels

Two former international cricketers join 10-person CA Supplementary Referee Panel.

Former international cricketers Kepler Wessels and David Gilbert have been announced as the two newest members of the CA Supplementary Referee Panel.

Gilbert joins the Supplementary Referee Panel having played nine Test Matches and 14 One-Day Internationals for Australia during the 1980’s. More recently, Gilbert was Chief Executive Officer of Cricket New South Wales and returns to cricket with a wealth of experience.

Wessels joins the panel with an extensive playing and coaching career to his name. Wessels is one of fifteen Test cricketers to represent two nations playing 24 Tests for Australia and 16 Tests for South Africa whom he was captain. Wessels also played 109 One Day Internationals (54 for Australia and 55 for South Africa) and famously captained South Africa to their first World Cup appearance in 1992. Wessels also coached Northamptonshire in the UK from 2003 to 2006.

The Supplementary Referee Panel officiates in Cricket Australia Toyota Futures League, WNCL and WBBL matches. In addition, the CA Match Referees officiate the Underage National Championships. The Cricket Australia National Match Referee Panel is unchanged for season 2018-19.

National Match Referees Panel

  • Steve Bernard
  • Daryl Harper
  • Peter Marshall
  • Bob Parry
  • David Talalla
  • Bob Stratford

Supplementary Match Referees Panel

  • John Biddiss
  • Tim Donahoo
  • Neil Findlay
  • Dave Gilbert
  • Kent Hannam
  • Damian Herft
  • David Johnston
  • Terry Prue
  • Ian Thomas
  • Kepler Wessels