Cricket Umpires Australia


Martell appointed to ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup

25 January 2016

Martell Under 19

Australian National Umpire Panel member, Mick Martell, has been selected by the ICC to officiate in the ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup being held in Bangladesh throughout January/February 2016.

Martell joins other members of the International Panel of ICC Umpires; ICC Associate and ICC Affiliate Panel of International Umpires from around the world. Off field, Elite Panel of ICC Match Referee, Andy Pycroft, as well as ICC Regional Referees Panel members Devdas Govindjee and Graeme La Brooy, will oversee proceedings.

Although commencing on Wednesday 27 January, Martell has been acclimatising in the sub-continent and has been appointed to a number of warm-up fixtures. His first fixture is between England and Fiji Under 19’s on the opening day of the tournament at MA Aziz Stadium in Chittagong.

Held across eight venues in Bangladesh, the 2016 tournament features 16 teams divided in to four groups. Outside of the nine Test nations, seven Association and Affiliate Members will also play – Afghanistan, Canada, Fiji, Ireland, Namibia, Nepal and Scotland. The tournament is an important step in the cricket pathway, with legends such as Brian Lara, Michael Clarke, Brendon McCullum and Virat Kohli having played during the past ten editions.

Following the group stages, the Super League and Plate knockouts will be played from 4 – 13 February before the tournament concludes on Sunday 14 February.

To follow the ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup, please

ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup Match Officials

  • Ahmad Shahab
  • Ahsan Raza
  • Anisur Rahman
  • Gregory Brathwaite
  • Chettithody Shamshuddin
  • Enamul Hoque Moni
  • Robert Bailey
  • Nigel Duguid
  • Adrian Holdstock
  • Mick Martell
  • Jeremiah Matibiri
  • Phillip Jones
  • Tim Robinson
  • Ruchira Palliyaguruge
  • Ian Ramage
  • Langton Rusere
  • Raveendra Wimalasiri
  • Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid