Cricket Umpires Australia


Koch, Lightbody and Taylor 2016 NOS Scholars

04 March 2016

Lightbody, Taylor and Koch

Congratulations to Donovan Koch, Simon Lightbody and David Taylor who have been awarded 2016 National Officiating Scholarships for cricket

The Australian Sports Commission National Officiating Scholarships provide professional development opportunities in a range of areas, practical experience at a high performance level together with mentoring and coaching to improve officiating skills.

The trio, who reside in Brisbane, Canberra and Sydney respectively, attended the first session of the season on the Gold Coast during the last week of February. Sessions included psychology (emotional intelligence), psychology, nutrition and recovery.

An important aspect of the scholarship is the role and impact of an individuals’ mentor. Rob Dunbar (Koch), Simon Taufel (Lightbody) and Tony Larven (Taylor) joined the group on the weekend and will support them throughout the scholarship.  

A mid-season workshop will be held in June, whilst the program concludes in late November at the Australia Institute of Sport in Canberra.

A number of past scholars have since become National Umpire Panel members, including most recently Victoria’s Phil Gillespie.

Past scholars

2015 | Phil Gillespie, Claire Polosak and David Shepard

2014 | Greg Davidson and Tony Wilds

2013 | Damien Mealey and Shawn Craig

2012 | Sam Nogajski

2011 | Simon Fry

2010 | Ian Lock

2009 | Paul Reiffel and Steven John

2008 | Mick Martell