Cricket Umpires Australia


Kent Hannam makes First-Class Debut

25 March 2021

Kent Hannam

Cricket Australia (CA) Match Referee Panel (NRP) member Kent Hannam makes his First-Class Match Referee debut today when Western Australia play Victoria at the WACA Ground in Perth.

Hannam joined the Cricket Australia Match Officials team in 2015/16 appointed to officiate in CA competitions before being appointed to the inaugural Supplementary Match Referee Panel (SRP) prior to the 2017/18 season. Hannam’s role on the SRP initially saw him officiate in the WBBL, WNCL and the then CA Futures League competition. Hannam previously enjoyed a playing and coaching career in the Victorian Premier Cricket ranks during the 1980’s, 90’s and 2000’s. Hannam also coached in the Victorian High-Performance system including stints with the Victorian Second XI and Victorian WNCL teams.

Hannam has been an integral part of the Match Officiating pathway. Appointment to the 2017/18 Under 17 Male and 2018/19 Under 15 Male National Championships both in Queensland. And last season, Hannam travelled to Perth to officiate in the Under 19 Male National Championships. On the International front, Hannam was appointed to the Under 19 International Series between Australia and Pakistan in Melbourne during the 2017/18 season and to the 4-Day Tour match between the New South Wales Second XI and the touring England Lions played in Wollongong last season. Hannam has made a significant contribution to the rebel WBBL thus far officiating 46 matches including the Semi Final earlier this season. His tally is the most of any Match Referee for that competition.

Hannam, made his KFC BBL debut earlier this season when the Sydney Thunder played the Perth Scorchers at Manuka Oval and went on to officiate in seven BBL10 matches. And earlier this month, Hannam was appointed Match Referee for the first time in a List-A match when Victoria played Tasmania at the Junction Oval St Kilda. Alongside Hannam for today’s Marsh Sheffield Shield match will be on field umpires Paul Wilson and Bruce Oxenford.