Cricket Umpires Australia


Johnstone and Treloar appointed to the Cricket Australia Development Umpire Panel

09 June 2017

Ben Treloar - DUP

New South Wales Umpire Ben Treloar and Western Australia’s Nathan Johnstone have been elevated to Cricket Australia’s Development Umpire Panel

Cricket Australia announced the National Umpire and Development Panels jointly earlier today. The pair have been appointed following a dedicated journey and consistent outstanding performances throughout their local Premier and CA umpiring pathways.

Nathan Johnstone joins the Development Panel with over a decade of experience at Premier Level in Western Australia. Johnstone has already officiated at Domestic One-Day level, debuting in December 2010 where he stood with fellow West Australian Mick Martell in the match between Western Australia and Queensland at the WACA. Johnstone went on to stand in a further three One-Day Domestic Fixtures.

Johnstone’s recent performances have seen him earn appointments to the recent Under 19 International Series between Australia and Sri Lanka in Hobart. 2016/17 also included Rebel WBBL and Toyota Futures League appointments to go with a busy Perth Premier season.

Johnstone stood in five Under 19 Male National Championships between 2008/09 and 2015/16, as well as the 2006/07 Under 17 Male National Championships. Off the field, Johnstone is an active member of the Western Australia Cricket Umpires’ Association, sitting on the committee of management and having served as Secretary for two seasons.

Ben Treloar started his umpiring career by balancing his own playing career with Manly District Cricket Club and officiating in lower grade Shires matches over a weekend. He followed a similar pathway to Johnstone, having officiated at the Under 17 Male National Championships in 2010/11 and 2012/13 before starting a three-year consecutive spell in the Under 19 Male National Championships from 2013/14 to 2015/16. On the Premier cricket scene, Treloar has officiated in 106 First Grade matches out of a total of 182, including six Grand Finals.

Treloar has been added to the Development Panel on the back of a successful season which recently culminated in appointment to the Under 19 International Series in Hobart alongside Johnstone. Last season he balanced his Sydney Premier cricket commitments alongside Rebel WBBL and Toyota Futures League domestic cricket appointments.

Both Johnstone and Treloar are currently involved in the Australian Sports Commission National Officiating Scholarship (NOS) program. The course comprises of three workshops throughout the year which covers nutrition, psychology, recovery, vision and media training alongside several other components of high performance sport officiating. In the past the NOS program has featured seven of the current members of the National Umpire Panel as well as ICC Elite Panel Umpire Paul Reiffel.

Cricket Australia Match Officials Manager Sean Easey commented on the pair:

“Following several strong seasons in the pathway, Ben Treloar and Nathan Johnstone both thoroughly deserve their opportunity at this level and we look forward to seeing them in action throughout the 2017-18 season”.  

Cricket Australia Congratulates both Treloar and Johnstone on their elevation to the Development Umpire Panel.

2017-18 Development Umpire Panel

  • Nathan Johnstone (WA)
  • Donovan Koch (QLD)
  • Simon Lightbody (NSW)
  • Claire Polosak (NSW)
  • David Shepard (VIC)
  • Ben Treloar (NSW)