Cricket Umpires Australia


Ireland and Waldron appointed to CA Under 18 National Championships Final

24 January 2019

01-240119 CA Under 18 Female Championships

Umpire appointments announced for the final day of the CA Under 18 National Championships

Congratulations to Dale Ireland and Mary Waldron who are appointed to the CA Under 18 National Championships Final today between ACT/NSW Country and New South Wales Metro.

Victorian State Umpire Panel member Ireland brings a wealth of experience to the Final, having been appointed to two CA Under 19 Male Championships in 2015/16 and 2016/17 and a further two CA Under 17 Male Championships in 2014/15 and 2017/18. Since debuting in the Victorian Premier Cricket competition in season 2006/07, Ireland has officiated over 200 matches across the grades. He also brings experience from his 27 WBBL; six WNCL and five Toyota Futures League appointments. 

Irish international wicket-keeper-turn umpire Waldron has been officiating in the SACA Premier Cricket Competition for the past two seasons and among her many underage appointments, has stood in all four senior men’s grades in all three formats. Waldron also played and umpired in the Tasmania Premier Cricket system, first arriving in the Apple Isle in 2014. These Championships were her second consecutive appearance having also stood in the same tournament in Canberra last year. 

Waldron’s cricketing journey is intertwined between playing and umpiring. Waldron has represented Ireland in 40 Women’s One-Day Internationals and 47 Women’s T20 matches to date with the most recent being in the Women’s T20 World Cup in the West Indies. In August 2018 Waldron took a significant step forward in her umpiring career when she made her List-A Debut in the match between Ireland A and Bangladesh A men’s teams in Dublin.

Both umpires were also appointed to the Final of the Twenty20 component between Queensland and ACT/NSW Country last Friday in Bendigo. 

The Final will be held at Eastern Oval (Ballarat) from 10:00AM (local time). Four other games will be played around Ballart to close the Championships today, with appointments as follows:-

  • Final: ACT/New South Wales Country v New South Wales Metro at Eastern Oval | Dale Ireland and Mary Waldron
  • CA XI v Queensland at CE Brown Reserve | Keiran Knight and Andrew Scotford
  • Victoria Metro v Tasmania at Northern Oval | Dhaval Bhatt and Darren Foster
  • South Australia v Northern Territory at Ballarat Grammar |Josh Adie and Kirsten Funston
  • Victoria Country v Western Australia at Alfredton Recreation Reserve |Sam Burns and Jarryd Buscall
01-180119 Under 18 Female T20 Final
Dale Ireland, Steve Davis (Match Referee) and Mary Waldron prior to the T20 Final