Cricket Umpires Australia


Fry and Wilson appointed to ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018

26 February 2018

Umpire Paul Wilson

Australian’s Simon Fry and Paul Wilson appointed to ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018 in Zimbabwe.

Fry and Wilson join a 12-umpire panel that is complemented by four members of the International Panel of Referees. The three-week, 34-game tournament throughout March consists of 10 teams with the finalists both progressing to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 event in England and Wales. The three highest finishing Associate Members will join ICC World Cricket League Championship winners, the Netherlands, with ODI status until 2022 at the conclusion of the tournament. Fry will be based in Harare, Wilson in Bulawayo; whilst Kwekwe rounds out the three host cities.

Fry joins the group with a wealth of experience, with seven Tests, 41 One-Day Internationals and 14 T20 Internationals to his name. His most recent ICC appointment on foreign shores was in December where he stood in the India versus Sri Lanka One-Day International Series. Fry is no stranger to ICC tournaments, having been appointed to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 held across Australia and New Zealand, and the ICC T20 Women’s World Cup 2016 in India. He has also officiated in the ICC Under 19 World Cup in February 2014 and two ICC World Cricket League tournaments in Darwin and Canada. This is Fry’s fourth assignment to Zimbabwe, having officiated across Harare and Bulawayo in the past.

Coming off a busy start to the calendar year where he officiated in New Zealand for the ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup before returning the week later to stand in the T20 International Series in Auckland and Hamilton, Wilson now travels to the African nation for the first time in his umpiring career. In July 2015 Wilson travelled to Ireland to officiate in the ICC World T20 Qualifier and more recently he stood in the ICC Women’s World Cup including appointment as Third Umpire to the Final at Lord’s between hosts England and India. Wilson has stood in a total of six One-Day Internationals and eight T20 Internationals.

International Panel of Umpires:-

  • Ahsan Raza
  • Gregory Brathwaite
  • Christopher Brown
  • Simon Fry
  • Shaun George
  • Michael Gough
  • Adrian Holdstock
  • Langton Rusere
  • Chettithody Shamshuddin
  • Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid
  • Joel Wilson
  • Paul Wilson

International Panel of Referees:- 

  • Dev Govindjee
  • Graeme La Brooy
  • David Jukes
  • Shaid Wadvalla 

Group A

  • Papua New Guinea
  • Netherlands
  • West Indies
  • Ireland
  • United Arab Emirates

Group B

  • Afghanistan
  • Nepal
  • Zimbabwe
  • Scotland
  • Hong Kong