Cricket Umpires Australia


Debutant into CA’s 2015-16 National Umpire Panel

22 June 2015

Gerard Abood and Sam Nogajski

Cricket Australia (CA) today announced the 2015-16 National Umpire Panel, that will officiate in all Australian domestic matches for the upcoming season.

The umpires have been selected by CA’s Umpire High Performance Panel and include one change from last year, with Victorian Premier umpire Phillip Gillespie making his debut on the panel. Damien Mealey (QLD) will not be part of the panel this summer.

The 2015-16 National Umpire Panel is:

Gerard Abood   New South Wales   
Ashley Barrow  Victoria   
Shawn Craig  Victoria   
Gregory Davidson  New South Wales   
Simon Fry  South Australia  20 ODIs, 8 T20 INTLs 
Phillip Gillespie  Victoria  Debut
Michael Graham-Smith  Tasmania   
Geoffrey Joshua  Victoria   
Michael Martell  Western Australia  3 ODIs, 2 T20 INTLs 
Samuel Nogajski  Tasmania   
John Ward  Victoria  6 ODIs, 6 T20 INTLs 
Paul Wilson  New South Wales  3 ODIs, 2 T20 INTLs 

Debutant Gillespie has stood in 102 Victorian Premier Cricket matches, including 54 First XI matches, and is also on a development scholarship with the Australian Sports Commission for 2015. He made his First Class debut in February this year in a match between New South Wales and Victoria that saw NSW quick Doug Bollinger take a hat trick at Gillespie’s end in the first innings.

CA Match Officials Manager Sean Easey said this 12-umpire panel continues to set a high benchmark for the game’s adjudicators. 

“Our 2015-16 National Umpire Panel was selected following a series of strong performances last season, which made selection of the panel very tough. What the selection process showed was the pleasing depth of high-quality umpiring talent in Australia that contributes to making our elite domestic competitions world-class.

“Australian cricket remains a leader in producing and developing international-standard officials and we believe this group has the potential to continue Australia’s proud history of progressing umpires to international honours.

“Australia also has four umpires contracted to the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires, and our 12 selected umpires for 2015-16 have a wonderful opportunity to follow in their footsteps,” Easey said.

Fry, Martell, Ward and Wilson have again been nominated as CA’s International Panel umpires who are subsequently eligible to officiate in international matches as appointed by the ICC (for matches overseas) or Cricket Australia (when appropriate).

Last season, the ICC appointed Fry to the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, and the Sri Lanka v England One-Day International Series at the end of 2014. Wilson made his ODI debut in November last year, while Martell made his T20 International debut.

The ICC Elite Panel of Umpires are the 12 umpires contracted to the ICC who officiate in international cricket around the world. The panel includes four Australian representatives: Steve Davis, Bruce Oxenford, Paul Reiffel and Rod Tucker.

CA’s National Umpire Panel members are selected by the Umpire High Performance Panel whose members are Steve Bernard, Daryl Harper, Peter Marshall, Bob Stratford, David Talalla and CA’s Match Officials Manager Sean Easey.