Cricket Umpires Australia


Test Umpires join Match Referee Panel

11 September 2020


Cricket Australia (CA) has appointed Australian Test Match Umpires Steve Davis and Simon Fry to its Match Referee Panel (MRP) for the 2020/21 season.

Davis brings a wealth of experience to the MRP following a distinguished international umpiring career spanning almost a quarter of a century. Davis stood in a total of 57 Test Matches with a further 32 as TV Umpire. In One-Day Internationals, Davis stood in 137 matches along with 67 as TV Umpire including the 2007, 2011 and 2015 ICC World Cups. In the shortest format, Davis officiated in 26 T20 Internationals with another 21 as TV Umpire including the 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2014 ICC T20 World Cups. As a Match Referee, Davis made his First-Class debut earlier this year in the UK’s Bob Willis Trophy First-Class competition. Davis has also fulfilled the role of Tournament Referee and Selector at CA Underage National Championships in recent years.

Fry’s international umpiring career reached the heights of Test cricket standing on-field in seven Test Matches with a further seven as TV Umpire. In One-Day International cricket, Fry officiated in 49 matches on-field with another 20 in the Third Umpires’ chair. Whilst in the shortest format Fry stood in 19 T20 Internationals and a further 12 matches as TV Umpire. Fry also brings with him significant Australian Domestic cricket experience having stood in 100 First-Class matches including 75 Sheffield Shield matches and 76 Domestic One Day Cup matches. Fry was also rated as Australia’s top umpire for four consecutive seasons from 2013/14 to 2016/17 winning the CA Umpire Award.

Both Davis and Fry join the Referee Panel which will oversee Australia’s professional Domestic Cricket competitions which include the Marsh Sheffield Shield and KFC BBL|10.