Cricket Umpires Australia


Davidson and Craig fly Australian flag offshore

01 March 2018

Umpire Greg Davidson

Greg Davidson and Shawn Craig travel to New Zealand and South Africa respectively as part of the annual Umpire exchange initiative.

Davidson stands in the Canterbury versus Wellington Plunkett Shield match in Christchurch this week. This is Davidson’s first appointment overseas and has officiated in 15 First Class; 15 List A and 26 T20 domestic men’s matches. Earlier in the season Davidson brought up his fifth Women’s One-Day International fixture in Coffs Harbour and has stood in the same number of Women’s T20 INTLs. Davidson has also been a part of the last two Women’s Test matches held on Australian shores – on-field in 2014 at the WACA and Third Umpire in the most previous Test at North Sydney Oval.

Craig travels to South Africa to stand in two Sunfoil Series fixtures. His first assignment is the fixture between the Warriors and Knights in East London before standing in the game between the Lions and Cobras in Potchefstroom. He has 19 First Class; 15 List A and 27 T20 domestic men’s appointments to his name. This season Craig stood in the Women’s T20 International component of the Women’s Ashes Series, and has officiated in three Women’s One-Day Internationals. Last season Craig stood in New Zealand last season in the fixture between Northern Districts and Otago. 

The long-standing Umpire exchange initiative sees a joint venture between CA; the BCCI; Cricket South Africa and New Zealand Cricket. The exchange program between the four countries provides a number of benefits, including:-

  • Travelling to and officiating in foreign conditions
  • Managing unfamiliar teams at new venues
  • Working with new colleagues under a different system
  • Learning and adopting new Playing Conditions
  • Experiencing ‘life on the road’ encountered regularly by umpires at the next level and building contacts in other countries 

Earlier in the season, Gerard Abood travelled to India and stood in two fixtures in the Ranji Trophy, whilst Australian cricket welcomed Chris Brown (New Zealand); Brad White (South Africa) and Abhijit Deshmukh (India).