Cricket Umpires Australia


David Johnston makes List-A Match Referee debut

22 February 2021

02-220221 David Johnston List-A debut

Congratulations to David Johnston who today complements his recent First-Class Match Referee debut by officiating in his first List-A fixture in the match between Tasmania and Queensland at Blundstone Arena.

Last Wednesday Johnston was appointed to his debut First-Class fixture as a Match Referee, where Queensland were victorious over home team Tasmania. 

Today Johnston was presented with his List-A debut certificate by Cricket Tasmania Director Tony Harrison. Darren Close and Bruce Oxenford are standing Umpires, whilst Nathan Bester and Steve Jewell are Scorers. 

Johnston joined the Cricket Australia Match Officials team in 2017/18. He has officiated across the WNCL and Toyota Second XI; and currently has 30 matches to his name in the Rebel W/BBL. This included appointment to the Rebel W/BBL Final|05 Final in Brisbane between the Heat and the Strikers. 

Johnston served as Cricket Tasmania Chief Executive Officer for an incredible 19 years. His tenure included being instrumental in the redevelopment of Blundstone Arena in which the David Boon; Ricky Ponting and Members’ Stands were constructed. There was unprecedent success of the men’s team during his time, including three Sheffield Shield and three One-Day Cup titles. He oversaw the formation of the men’s and women’s Hobart Hurricanes team and Tasmanian Women’s team (formerly the Roar); witnessed an increase in playing participation and the opening of the Cricket Museum at Blundstone Arena. 

As a player, Johnston played 10 First-Class matches and 15 List-A domestic games for South Australia, including the 1983/84 Final as part of the winning side.