Cricket Umpires Australia


Victoria win Crockett Shield

06 May 2019

Crockett Shield

The Victorian Umpires & Scorers Association (VCAUSA) have retained the Crockett Shield with a 4-wicket victory over the South Australian Umpires & Scorers Association (SACUSA) in Melbourne over the Easter weekend.

Since 1931, cricket umpires from Victoria and South Australia have hosted the biannual Crocket Shield cricket match and associated social functions. This year, the VCAUSA hosted the Easter event in Melbourne. The fixture was played on four occasions before the war beginning in 1931 and in every odd numbered year from 1947. The event is a highly-rated feature on both the VCAUSA and SACUSA calendars. This year’s match was played at KM Reedy Reserve Hampton Park under sunny skies. In a hotly contested match, the VCAUSA 6/157 defeated SACUSA 156 in the 39th over bringing the overall tally to VCAUSA 22, SACUSA 18, the first match in 1931 ended in a draw. An unbeaten partnership of 92 between John Richards and Stephen Pitts was ultimately the difference. Officiating the match was Trevor Finlayson (Vic) and Bruce Stribley (SA) with match scorers Alan Britton (Vic) and Neil Ricketts (SA) keeping tally.

Off the field, over 100 members and families socialised at the multiple functions throughout the weekend. This provided the opportunity for cross-border friendships to be renewed. 2021 will see the event move back to Adelaide for the 90th year of this unique and memorable event.

SACUSA 156 (40 Overs) Craig Thomas 90, Abhishek 26, Chris Doyle 3/18, Mattis van Eck 2/21
VCAUSA 6-157 (39 Overs) Courtney Lay 34, John Richards 49, Stephen Pitts 37no, Craig Thomas 2-10

VCAUSA Match Awards
Ian McGregor Medal – Player of the Match – Craig Thomas
Cronin Medals – Umpires Bruce Stribley and Trevor Findlayson
Howard Medals – Scorers Alan Britton and Neil Ricketts
Graeme Bugge Batting Trophy – Stephen Pitts (37 runs)
Ian Stuart Bowling Trophy – Chris Doyle (7 overs, 3/18)
Ray Isherwood Fielding Trophy – Dale Ireland
SACUSA’s Match Awards
Gladstone Jones Batting Trophy – Craig Thomas (90 runs)
Peter Weddell Bowling Trophy – Craig Thomas (8 overs, 2/10)
George McDonagh Fielding Trophy – Michael Williamson

Further match analysis and history of the Crockett Shield can be found below.

Photo Credit: VCAUSA
History and Match Report Credit: Kristen Thomas and Gerry Schembri