Cricket Umpires Australia


National and Development umpire panels announced for 2017-18

09 June 2017

Sam Nogajski and Claire Polosak

Cricket Australia has today announced the National Umpire Panel (NUP) and Development Umpire Panel (DUP) for the 2017-18 season.

The NUP features 12 members, who will officiate in Sheffield Shield, Domestic One-Day and Big Bash League matches this summer, while the DUP is primarily responsible for Women’s National Cricket League, Women’s Big Bash League and Futures League matches.

One change has been made to the NUP, with New South Wales umpire Tony Wilds promoted from the DUP, replacing Victoria’s Ashley Barrow.

Two umpires have been added to the six-member DUP, in Western Australia’s Nathan Johnstone and New South Wales’ Ben Treloar, replacing the promoted Wilds and Queensland’s Damien Mealey.

2017-18 National Umpire Panel

  • Gerard Abood (NSW)
  • Shawn Craig (VIC)
  • Greg Davidson (NSW)
  • Simon Fry (SA)
  • Phil Gillespie (VIC)
  • Mike Graham-Smith (TAS)
  • Geoff Joshua (VIC)
  • Mick Martell (WA)
  • Sam Nogajski (TAS)
  • John Ward (VIC)
  • Tony Wilds (NSW)
  • Paul Wilson (NSW)

2017-18 Development Umpire Panel

  • Nathan Johnstone (WA)
  • Donovan Koch (QLD)
  • Simon Lightbody (NSW)
  • Claire Polosak (NSW)
  • David Shepard (VIC)
  • Ben Treloar (NSW)


Cricket Australia Match Officials Manager Sean Easey said:

“We have only made the one change to the National Umpire Panel for the upcoming season, which is a reflection on the performance of our high performance umpiring team across the board last summer,” Easey said.

“In 2016-17 we saw Tony Wilds make his BBL debut, Simon Fry appointed by the ICC to five Test matches, Sam Nogajski make his T20I debut, Claire Polosak appointed to the final of the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifiers and Simon Lightbody make his List A and First Class debuts, among a number of successes for our team.

“It is extremely pleasing to see Tony Wilds make the step up to the National Umpire Panel after a number of years as a member of our Development Umpire Panel and we wish him well as he takes this next step in his career.

“The Development Umpire Panel has been designed to help develop umpires capable of joining the National Umpire Panel in the years ahead, and they will have countless opportunities to learn from our high performance team of Match Officials and to test themselves at the professional level of the game. Following several strong seasons in the pathway, Ben Treloar and Nathan Johnstone both thoroughly deserve their opportunity at this level and we look forward to seeing them in action throughout the 2017-18 season.

“It’s always a difficult decision to replace an umpire on either panel, and we thank both Ashley Barrow and Damien Mealey for their years of service and commitment to umpiring and the game of cricket."

Cricket Australia’s umpiring panels are chosen by a selection panel consisting of Match Referees & Umpire Selection Manager Simon Taufel, former ICC Elite Panel Umpire Steve Davis, and Match Officials Manager Sean Easey.

Click here to view more information on Cricket Australia Umpire Panels