Cricket Umpires Australia


Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes Series Match Official appointments announced

16 October 2017

Women's Ashes Series - Appointments

Congratulations to all Match Officials who have been appointed to officiate in the upcoming Commonwealth Bank Women’s Ashes Series

Australia and England will face off in the opening One-Day International in Brisbane this weekend before the series moves to Coffs Harbour for the two remaining One-Day Internationals. Trio Shawn Craig, Greg Davidson and Claire Polosak will alternate between on and off-field responsibilities across the three games, whilst Donovan Koch and David Shepard will officiate as Fourth Umpires respectively in Brisbane and Coffs Harbour. Bob Stratford has been appointed Match Referee, whilst Gail Cartwright and Doug O’Neill (Brisbane) and Darren Mattison and Ian Wright (Coffs Harbour) have been appointed as Scorers.

Players and Officials will then turn their attention to a historic Day-Night Test match at North Sydney Oval. The rare four-day fixture in the women’s program will be officiated by Gerard Abood and Geoff Joshua, whilst Greg Davidson has been appointed Third Umpire. Ben Treloar (Fourth Umpire) and Steve Bernard round out the Playing Control Team. Mattison returns for the pink ball fixture and will be accompanied by fellow NSW Cricket Umpires and Scorers Association member Kay Wilcoxon.

The Series culminates with three T20 Internationals, the first back at North Sydney Oval before travelling to the nation’s capital for the two remaining fixtures at Manuka Oval. Craig and Joshua return for these white ball fixtures, whilst John Ward joins the group for two on-field appointments. Bernard will continue his Match Refereeing duties.

The team that accumulates the most points across the series are deemed winners of the Ashes, with two points awarded for each ODI and T20 INTL win while a Test win is worth four points.

The Series is complemented with several Tour Matches, including four One-Day fixtures in Brisbane; a Three-Day game at Blacktown International Sportspark and Manuka Oval, as well as the traditional Governor General’s Twenty20 fixture at Drummoyne Oval in Sydney. 

Click here to view all Match Official appointments