Cricket Umpires Australia


Darren Close elevated to the Cricket Australia National Umpire Panel

02 July 2020

Darren Close

Cricket Australia (CA) have announced that Tasmanian Umpire Darren Close has been elevated from the CA Supplementary Umpire Panel (SUP) to the National Umpire Panel (NUP) for season 2020/21.

Close adds a significant amount of First-Class cricket experience to the National Panel having already umpired 21 First-Class matches which includes 18 at Sheffield Shield level. The Tasmanian remarkably debuted as an 18-year old in the Sheffield Shield match between Tasmania and Victoria during the 1986/87 season. Between 1987 and 1992, Close also officiated tour matches involving New Zealand, West Indies and Pakistan. Close also has four List-A matches to his name including the 1986/87 One-Day Domestic Cup Final between Tasmania and South Australia.

During the 1990’s Close relocated to the United Kingdom for work before returning to the Tasmanian umpiring ranks in 2014. Residing close to Devonport in Northern Tasmania, Close plied his trade in the Tasmanian Premier Cricket competition predominantly based in Hobart, a testament to his dedication to his umpiring in Tasmania.

Close was appointed to the 2015/16 Under 17 National Championships. As a member of the Tasmanian State Umpire Panel, Close stood in several representative matches that season. Close was selected to officiate in the Under 19 Male National Championships in Adelaide where he was appointed to the Final in 2016/17 and again in 2017/18. Close was appointed to the CA SUP for the 2017/18 season and officiated in the Toyota Second XI and KFC BBL as a Fourth Umpire. Last season, Close returned to professional cricket standing in Sheffield Shield, Marsh One Day Cup and KFC BBL09 matches where he debuted.

In the rebel WBBL, Close has stood in 29 matches since that competition’s inception. In the WNCL, Close has stood in seven matches including the Finals of the 2017/18 and 2018/19 seasons. Close has stood in numerous underage International fixtures spanning his umpiring career. Close officiated in the 1988 Youth World Cup in the first part of his career. While more recently officiating in the Under 19 Series between Australia and Sri Lanka in 2017 and the 2019 series featuring New Zealand.

Close goes on to a reformed 10-Umpire National Panel for the 2020/21 season.

Cricket Australia National Umpire Panel

• Gerard Abood
• Darren Close
• Shawn Craig
• Greg Davidson
• Phil Gillespie
• Mike Graham-Smith
• Donovan Koch
• Sam Nogajski
• Tony Wilds
• Paul Wilson