Cricket Umpires Australia


CA Under 19 Male and Under 18 Female National Championships appointments confirmed

08 November 2016

CA National Championships

Cricket Australia has confirmed appointments for the CA Under 19 Male and Under 18 Female Championships

CA Under 19 Male National Championships

The Cricket Australia Underage National Championships are an integral step in the umpire pathway. They provide a challenging environment for umpires, who are tested by travelling to a new city; standing in matches with new partners and managing unfamiliar teams at foreign venues all within a two week period.

The ten umpires for the Under 19 National Championships are appointed by the CA Match Referee Panel (formerly the Umpire High Performance Panel). Match Referees, along with the CA Umpire Educator; CA Umpire Coach and host State Umpire Manager, will then attend the Championships to observe and provide assessments for each of the individuals. On ‘rest’ days, the umpiring group will attend education and training sessions to assist their continual development on and off field.

The Championships provide a platform for the best officials to springboard into the elite pathway, with the CA Match Referees annually assessing if an individual’s performance at the National Championships warrants a selection to either the CA Development Umpire Panel or CA National Umpire Panel.

New South Welshman Troy Penman has been selected to join the group following a successful CA Under 17 National Championships campaign in Brisbane earlier in the season. Penman replaces Claire Polosak who has since been appointed to the Commonwealth Bank Women's International Series and Rebel WBBL|02 around the Championships.

CA Under 19 Male National Championships | Adelaide | 5 – 15 December 2016

  • Murray Branch
  • Daryl Brigham
  • Stephen Brne
  • Darren Close
  • James Hewitt
  • Dale Ireland
  • Troy Penman
  • David Shepard
  • Trent Steenholdt
  • David Taylor


CA Under 18 Female National Championships | Hobart | 23 – 29 November 2016

  • Greg Azzopardi
  • Darren Foster
  • Ashlee Kovalevs
  • Margaret Marshall
  • Claire Polosak*
  • Muhammed Qureshi
  • Jillian Shephard
  • Deanne Young