Cricket Umpires Australia


Big weekend in Brisbane for WBBL|05 finalists and Match Officials alike

05 December 2019

WBBL Semi Finals Appointment

All six Supplementary Panel Umpires appointed across the Rebel WBBL|05 Finals weekend in Brisbane.

Darren Close (TAS), Nathan Johnstone (WA), Simon Lightbody (ACT), Troy Penman (NSW), Claire Polosak (NSW) and Ben Treloar (NSW) have all been appointed to the upcoming Rebel WBBL|05 Semi-Finals this weekend at Allan Border Field in Brisbane.

After one of the closest competitions in the league’s history; it comes down to the final weekend of the Rebel WBBL|05 Series with the six members of the Cricket Australia Supplementary Umpire Panel (SUP) awarded the task of ensuring the matches are fairly adjudicated. 

Each of the members of the SUP have had a busy few months having all being involved in numerous festival weekends of the Rebel WBBL whilst still officiating locally in their respective states.

Close and Lightbody will be on field when the Adelaide Strikers take on the Perth Scorchers for a spot in the final while Polosak and Treloar will be out in the middle for when top of the table winners Brisbane Heat take on the Melbourne Renegades.

Penman and Johnstone have been appointed as Third Umpires for the games respectively. The Playing Control Team is rounded out with Neil Findlay and David Johnston being appointed as the Match Referees. 

Scorers Gail Cartwright and Phil Higgins have been appointed to both Semi Finals. 

After the conclusion of the finals this weekend; the SUP won’t have any time to catch their breath with all six members heavily involved in the upcoming KFC BBL|09 Series, which kicks off Tuesday 17 December in Brisbane. 

Rebel WBBL|05 Final appointments will be made after the conclusion of the semi-finals Saturday evening. The appointments for the semi-finals are below:

SF One:  Adelaide Strikers v Perth Scorchers
On-field: Darren Close & Simon Lightbody
Third: Troy Penman
Scorers: Gail Cartwright and Phil Higgins
Referee: David Johnston

SF Two: Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Renegades 
On-field: Claire Polosak & Ben Treloar
Third: Nathan Johnstone
Scorers: Gail Cartwright and Phil Higgins
Referee: Neil Findlay