Cricket Umpires Australia


Australian Match Officials appointed in Vanuatu

06 May 2019


Cricket Australia (CA) National Umpire Panel (NUP) member Sam Nogajski and National Match Referee Steve Bernard have been appointed by the ICC to officiate in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup qualifiers in Vanuatu.

The ICC Women’s Qualifier EAP begins on 6 May in Vanuatu where 15 T20 Internationals will be played in the five-day tournament. Fiji, Indonesia, Japan, PNG, Samoa and Vanuatu are all two steps away from the Australia T20. Indonesia are making their first appearance in an ICC women’s event.

Nogajski stands in this event just six months after officiating in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup held in the West Indies back in November. Nogajski made his Women’s T20 International Debut in the match between Australia and New Zealand in his native Hobart in February 2010. Since then, Nogajski has gone on to stand in another 14 WT20 Internationals including World Cup fixtures.

Bernard is an experienced Match Referee in International Women’s cricket having officiated in 17 Women’s T20 Internationals and a further 25 Women’s One-Day Internationals. These matches included appointment to the 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup in the United Kingdom. Bernard was appointed by the ICC to the Final of that tournament between England and India at Lords.

ICC Women’s Qualifier EAP

6 May: Vanuatu v PNG. Japan v Indonesia. PNG v Indonesia. Samoa v Fiji

7 May: Samoa v Japan. Fiji v PNG. Indonesia v Samoa. Vanuatu v Fiji.

9 May: Vanuatu v Samoa. Fiji v Japan. PNG v Japan. Indonesia v Vanuatu.

10 May: Indonesia v Fiji. Japan v Vanuatu. Samoa v PNG.