Cricket Umpires Australia


Cricket Australia Announces BBL10 Final Match Officials’ Appointments

05 February 2021

Nogajski & Wilson

Cricket Australia (CA) has announced the match officials’ team for the Final of the KFC BBL10 to be played between the Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers at the Sydney Cricket Ground tomorrow.

CA National Umpire Panel (NUP) members Sam Nogajski and Paul Wilson have been appointed on-field with Gerard Abood as Third Umpire and Shawn Craig as Fourth Umpire. The appointed scorers for are Toni Lorraine and Ian Wright whist CA Match Referee Bob Stratford will oversee proceedings.

Nogajski made his KFC BBL debut back in BBL02 when the Melbourne Renegades played the Hobart Hurricanes at Docklands Stadium in December 2012. Within two years, Nogajski was among the top echelon of umpires in Australia appointed to the BBL04 Semi Final between the Perth Scorchers and the Melbourne Stars at the WACA Ground in Perth. Nogajski was then appointed Third Umpire for the final that year between the Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers at Manuka Oval. The following season, Nogajski was appointed on-field to the first of his three finals when he stood in the BBL05 Final between the Melbourne Stars and Sydney Thunder at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Nogajski was again appointed to the KFC BBL Final in the all-Melbourne contest between the Renegades and the Stars in February 2019. Earlier this season, Nogajski reached the 50-game milestone when the Melbourne Stars played the Perth Scorchers at the University of Tasmania Stadium in Launceston. In doing so, Nogajski became the eighth umpire to reach the milestone.

Paul Wilson has had a busy 2020/21 season officiating in all formats across the International season starting with the Dettol One Day and T20 International series between Australia and India. Wilson then stood on-field in two Vodafone Test matches between the two nations with a further one appointment as Third Umpire. Wilson’s international commitments have largely limited his KFC BBL10 appointments. This week’s Final will be the fourth time Wilson will be in the middle for a KFC BBL Final. Wilson is no stranger to officiating this week’s competing sides in a final having stood in the KFC BBL04 edition at Manuka Oval and the KFC BBL06 Final at the WACA Ground. On both occasions the Perth Scorchers took the title with thrilling victories. Wilson’s appointment to the Final is significant as he becomes only the second umpire to stand in four KFC BBL Finals joining West Australian Mick Martell.

Gerard Abood is appointed to his first KFC BBL Final as TV Umpire having stood in two previous Finals whilst Fourth Umpire Shawn Craig stood on-field in the Final of BBL08. Match Referee Bob Stratford is appointed to a record sixth KFC BBL Final.

KFC BBL10 Match Officials Appointments