Cricket Umpires Australia


Australian Cricket welcomes New Zealand umpires in Canberra

15 January 2016

CA Under 18 Female Championships

The week-long Cricket Australia Under 18 Female Championships is currently underway amid hot conditions in Canberra.

Having been held in regional Victoria for the past four seasons, the change in scenery in the nation’s capital isn’t the only difference for the umpiring team. 

For the first time ever, seven of the eight umpires are women – the most females to ever officiate in an Australian underage tournament together. In a further initiative, New Zealander’s Di Venter and Kim Cotton stand in the Under 18’s as part of an exciting exchange between the two countries that was established last season.

Western Australian Ashlee Kovalevs most recently travelled to Auckland before Christmas to stand in the New Zealand National Under 21 Tournament, of which Venter and Cotton were also appointed to. Current Project Panel member, Claire Polosak, was the first to travel to New Zealand to officiate last season.

For all the news about the Cricket Australia Under 18 Female Championships and for more information, please click here

Cricket Australia Under 18 Female Championship umpires:-

  • Kim Cotton | New Zealand
  • Luke Edwards | VIC
  • Ashlee Kovalevs | WA
  • Margaret Marshall | ACT
  • Claire Polosak | NSW
  • Jillian Shephard | QLD
  • Di Venter | New Zealand
  • Deanne Young | ACT