Cricket Australia Coaching


Junior Cricket Coaches recognised at ODI

23 January 2018

From L – R: Ray McMurrich, Darrel Forrest, James Sutherland, Richard Hickey, Scott McMahon, Simon Ogilvie, Peter Byrne, Chris McCormick, Micahel Kasprowicz

Cricket Australia took the opportunity to use the One Day International on Sunday January 21, between Australia and England, to celebrate some of Australia’s best Junior Cricket coaches.

Each State/Territory was able to nominate a junior coach who has:

- Embraced Cricket Australia’s vision of being Australia’s favourite sport; and a sport for all Australians.

- Actively promoted and contributed to sustainable participation growth within their club/region.

- Demonstrated leadership within their club, association and/or wider community.

- A clear understanding of the key philosophies associated with coaching the Australian Way.

Each of the coaches shared their story on the day and had the opportunity to discuss the game and coaching with each other at the SCG.

To foster and develop cricket in Australia, we need to continue to enhance the quality of the cricket experience through our coaches to ensure that we continue to produce the best players, teams and coaches in the world. 

Creating the best environments for our young cricketers to enjoy is critical to the growth of our great game. It was our pleasure to have the opportunity to celebrate and recognise the work of these dedicated, passionate and committed junior coaches. 

The coaches recognised were:

Ray McMurrich Tahmoor CC, NSW
Darrel Forrest Cooroy CC, QLD
Simon Ogilvie Golden Point CC, VIC
Richard Hickey Kettering CC, TAS
Peter Byrne Quinns Rock Jnr CC, WA
Chris McCormick Waratah CC, NT
Scott McMahon Mount Compass CC, SA