Cricket Australia Coaching


Gregory and Dalby lead the way to Indoor Cricket World Cup in Dubai

27 July 2017

Indoor world cup

Australia’s Indoor Cricket National Champions for 2017 have been crowned, and four Australian squads have been selected to compete at the 2017 WICF Indoor Cricket World Cup in Dubai.

At the helm are Ross Gregory, who will be coaching the Australian men's team in his 7th World Cup and Donna Dalby leading the women's team, coaching in her 5th World Cup.

The 2017 Indoor Cricket National Championships concluded in Mackay on Saturday, with national titles claimed across the five Open divisions, and teams named to represent Australia at Open Men’s, Open Women’s, 21 & Under Men’s and 21 & Under Women’s level.

Australia is the reigning champion in each division, and will set out to defend its titles in September. 

The 21 & Under Men’s and Women’s teams will be lead by Brenton Brien and Cindy Kross respectively, with all teams being supported by four specialist coaches that will tour with the teams: Rob Boiston, Tony Panecasio (Men’s Specialist coaches) and Tahnee Norris and Wendy Kemp (Women’s Specialist coaches).

Cricket Australia Indoor Cricket Manager, Briana Binch, said:

“It’s really pleasing for us to be able to select these strong teams and coaches to represent Australia at this year’s Indoor Cricket World Cup, as we look to maintain our status as world champions,”.

“Last year the standard of competition across all the Open divisions was extremely high. With the addition of the Beastwear National Indoor Cricket League this year, our leading indoor cricketers are being exposed to more opportunities to test their skills at a high level, which is great to see.

“This year, we have seen a record number of players, teams and officials compete at the National Championships, and by combining the Junior and Open Divisions for the first time, we have been able to showcase the Pathway that’s available for aspiring indoor cricketers.

“Mackay has been a fantastic host for these championships, and we thank the Mackay Regional Council, Mackay Indoor Sports Arena and all our officials, players and supporters who have helped to make this year’s National Championships an overwhelming success."

In the Open Men’s Division, the ACT edged out Queensland by just nine runs in the final, 84 to 75.

ACT’s Brock Winkler was named Player of the Final, after guiding his side to victory in their run chase, while teammate Luke Ryan won the Player of the Series award.

Queensland claimed two titles - the Open Women’s and 21 & Under Men’s.

Player of the Final Krystal Opperman scored 18 runs and claimed two wickets, as Queensland’s Open Women defeated Victoria 81 to 59. Victoria’s Danielle Montague was named Player of the Series.

It was a comfortable win for Queensland’s 21 & Under Men, who defeated Western Australia Black 91 to 40, on the back of 14 runs and three wickets to Player of the Final Hamish Chapman. Fellow Queenslander Ryan Dowse won the Player of the Series award.

In the 21 & Under Women’s Division, Victoria Blue just overcame Queensland, 74 to 66.

Three wickets earned Victoria’s Maddie Wright the Player of the Final award - and she also was named Player of the Series - as a big final pair of Queensland was not enough to claim victory.

South Australia recorded a comprehensive win in the 25th edition of the Lord’s Taverners Shield, a division for cricketers with an intellectual disability.

Scott May was named Player of the Series and Player of the Final, as South Australia defeated Victoria 205 to 17.

For full match results and replays of each division final, visit

Australian Squads

Open Men’s: Vinesh Bennett, Benji Floros, Matthew Floros, Tim Floros, Luke Ryan (ACT); Rhys Dearness, Rob Fitzgerald, Jay Otto, Lyle Teske (QLD); Travis Baker, Justin Perkins (VIC); Chris Chellew (WA). 

Coach: Ross Gregory. 

Assistant Coach: Rob Boiston. 

Manager: Billy Floros.

Open Women’s: Claire Koski (NSW); Dulane Carson, Jude Coleman, Ashleigh Doble, Meagan Dixon, Krystal Oppermann (QLD); Neisha Iles, Stacey Oates, Kylie Rattray (SA); Nicole Martin, Briony Polkinghorne, Laura Shaw (VIC). 

Coach: Donna Dalby

Manager: Maleah Harris. 

Specialist Coaches: Wendy Kemp & Tahnee Norris.

21 & Under Men’s: Alexander Floros, Tyler Hays (ACT); Hamish Chapman, Jeremy Crighton, Ryan Dowse, Adrian Lascu, Blaine Schloss, Matt Schubert (QLD); Jamie Diener, Zachary Schwarz (SA); Joshua Fontana, Blair Oakley (WA). 

Coach: Brenton Brien. 

Assistant Coach: Tony Panecasio. 

Manager: Grant MacQuarrie.

21 & Under Women’s: Samantha Arnold, Amy Riddell (NSW); Zeldine Barnard, Samantha Dixon, Courtney Hewitt, Emily Vallance, Alexandra Weeks (Queensland); Ainslee Knight (SA); Adelaide Campion, Amy Jennings, Chloe Rafferty, Maddie Wright (VIC). 

Coach: Cindy Kross. 

Manager: Melissa Horn. 

Specialist Coaches: Wendy Kemp & Tahnee Norris.

Open Division Champions & Award Winners

Open Men’s

Final: ACT 84 def Queensland 75

Alan Wilson Medal (Player of the Series): Luke Ryan (ACT)

Player of the Final: Brock Winkler (ACT)

Open Women’s

Final: Queensland 81 def Victoria 59

Monika Brogan Medal (Player of the Series): Danielle Montague (VIC)

Player of the Final: Krystal Opperman (QLD)

21 & Under Men’s

Final: Queensland 91 def WA Black 40

Player of the Series: Ryan Dowse (QLD)

Player of the Final: Hamish Chapman (QLD)

21 & Under Women’s

Final: Victoria Blue 74 def Queensland 66

Player of the Series: Maddie Wright (VIC Blue)

Player of the Final: Maddie Wright (VIC Blue)

Lord’s Taverners Shield

Final: South Australia 205 def Victoria 17

Player of the Series: Scott May (SA)

Player of the Final: Scott May (SA)

All Star Team: Lindsay Drowley, James Eustance-Smith, Matt Greenwood, Scott May, Benjamin Pattison, Joshua Waldhuter (South Australia), Chris Anderson, Nathan Mahar, Craig Whitehand (Victoria), Jonathan Flower (Western Australia), Coach: Andrew Summerton (South Australia).

International Men’s Player of the Year: Tim Floros (ACT)

International Women’s Player of the Year: Briony Polkinghorne (VIC)

Indoor Cricket Hall of Fame Inductee: Greg Donnelly

Junior Champions

17 & Under Boys: Queensland

17 & Under Girls: Queensland

15 & Under Boys: Victoria Blue

14 & Under Girls: Victoria Blue

13 & Under Boys: NSW Cyclones