Cricket Australia Coaching


#ThanksCoach Recognition

31 January 2019

CA hosted 17 coaches to recognise there efforts from across the country

Cricket Australia (CA) has recently recognised 17 coaches across Community Cricket, Representative / Pathways cricket and Premier Cricket. Each State and Territory Cricket Association put forward coaches who have contributed greatly to the game through their involvement in coaching. The coaches were recognised as guests of CA across three different events.

Five Community coaches were recognised at the ODI against India in Sydney accompanied by Olivia Thornton – Coaching Specialist, from CA. Bryan Harper – Coaching Specialist from CA hosted six Representative / Pathway coaches at the ODI against India in Melbourne. Our third event was held on day three of the Second Test against Sri Lanka in Canberra where Matthew Betsey – National Coaching Manager hosted six Premier coaches alongside Olivia and Bryan.

These events created the opportunity for coaches from around Australia to connect and discuss the similarities and differences in their respective programs. It also provided a wonderful opportunity for networks to be created with coaches who are operating in the similar coaching environments. 

Kevin Roberts (CEO) and Belinda Clarke (Acting EGM, Team Performance) have spent time with the coaches, showing their appreciation and support for key volunteers within the cricket community.
We thank all cricket coaches across the Australian Cricket pathway for the time and effort they so willingly provide to others so that so many can enjoy Australia’s favourite sport.

Community Coaches
Tony Louka – St Christopher’s Cricket Club, NSW
Darren Sonter – Holland Park Cricket Club, QLD
Suzannah Gale – Burnie Yeomans Cricket Club, TAS
Jonathan Allcock – Mil Lel Cricket Club, SA
Sophie Strickland – Mornington Peninsula Cricket Association, VIC

Representative Coaches
Chris Hall – Youth Premier League, VIC
Tim Carter – Academy Coach, NSW
Nigel Horlsey – Hurricanes Youth Academy, TAS
Trent Parke – Woodville Premier Cricket Club, SA
Norm Martin – Darling Downs Cricket Club, QLD
Mal Challen – Palmerston Cricket Club, NT

Premier Cricket Coaches 
Brad Loveluck – Essendon Cricket Club, VIC
Ron Woods – Parramatta Women’s Cricket Club, NSW 
Garry Lovett – Gold Coast Dolphins, QLD
Andrew Gower – Greater Northern Raiders, TAS
Lisa Miahjevic – Port Adelaide CC Women’s Premier Cricket, SA
Michael Delaney – Ginniderra Cricket Club, ACT

WA coaches were recognised in their state at a private event during the Perth Scorchers and Melbourne Stars BBL game on Saturday night.

The coaches below were accompanied by WACA Coaching Development Manger Chris Brabazon, WACA Coaching & Talent Specialists Lindsay Flinn, Orazio Santalucia, Brian Shields and WACA Talent Development Manager Liz Chetkovich.

Lauren Shaw - Melville CC (Female Youth League Coach/Coordinator)
Jill Powell - South Perth (Community Club/Female Youth League Coach)
Tom Casey - Perth CC U17's Colin Rose - Scarborough U15's
Dave Barbieri - Subiaco Floreat CC U14's
Greg Holt - Willetton DCC U15's