Running Your Club

Recruit and Manage Volunteers

The annual National Community Cricket Awards, supported by Commonwealth Bank, recognise and celebrate some of the nations best grassroots volunteers, programs and initiatives from across the country. The 2019/20 Season finalists are mentioned below

Community Cricket Club of the Year

A community cricket club that actively creates welcoming environments and seeks to create sustainable participation and growth through good governance, volunteer support and inclusive on field programs.

Winner: Wembley Districts Junior Cricket Club (WA)

Runners Up: Edinburgh Cricket Club (VIC)

Community Coach of the Year

A coach who exemplifies coaching The Australian Way. Someone who has gone out of their way to make sure that participants are supported to develop both their skills and a lifelong love of cricket

Winner: Jaccob Rodda, Irrewarra Cricket Club (VIC)

Runners Up: Kim Williams, Clermont Junior Cricket Association

Community Cricket Association of the Year

A cricket Association that actively works to create a sustainable competition that provides opportunities for everyone to have the chance to play cricket

Winner: Toowoomba Cricket Association (QLD)

Runners Up: Young Cricket Association (NSW)

Celebrating Cricket In Schools

A school, ambassador or initiative that celebrates the connection between School, student and the broader cricket community

Winner: Margo MacIntosh, Catholic Secondary Schools Association (QLD)

Runners Up: Mark Gardner & Michelle Davis-Rigoli, Baulkham Hills North PS (NSW)

Inclusion & Diversity Initiative of the Year

This award looks to acknowledge the outstanding delivery of diverse and inclusive experiences by finding clever and innovative ways to engage and grow their offering

Winner: Multicultural Communities of Australia & Fitzroy Community Club (SA)

Runners Up: Wembley Districts Junior Cricket Club (WA)

Indoor Facility of the Year

An Indoor facility that embraces the connection with the community and cricket to provide the best program experience to its participants

Winner: Wildcatz Indoor Sports - Townsville (QLD)

Runners Up: Macleay Indoor Sports & Development Centre (NSW)

Junior Cricket Initiative of the Year

This award looks to acknowledge the outstanding delivery of junior cricket experiences by finding clever and innovative ways to engage and grow their junior offering with a focus on education, fun and social connection

Winner: Junior World Cup - Fitzroy Cricket Club (SA)

Runners Up: Mackay Cricket Association (QLD)

Community Match Official of the Year

An umpire or match official (such as a scorer) who leads by example in championing safe, fair and enjoyable cricket for all

Winner: Tony Willmott, New Town Cricket Club (NSW)

Runners Up: Bruce Wood, Hornsby Umpires Association (TAS)

Community Partnership of the Year

This award recognises outstanding leadership and support in building community based partnerships that provide positive outcomes to the Cricket community (E.g. Local Government, multiple sporting clubs, community not for profit groups etc)

Winner: Bassendean Junior Cricket Club & Brightwater Oats Street (WA)

Runners Up: Barossa Council & Barossa Light Cricket Association (SA)

Women & Girls Initiative of the Year

This award looks to celebrate the outstanding delivery of female based experiences by finding clever or innovative ways to engage and grow their program

Winner: Holland Park Cricket Club

Runners Up: Barwon Women's Cricket Competition (VIC)

Young Leader of the Year

A young person, under the age of 25 who positively impacts those around them through their off field leadership in volunteering

Winner: Danielle Chivers (NSW)

Runners Up: Jarryd Roberts (SA)

Technology & Media Initiative of the Year

An individual, club or association who has used technology to create a connection to it’s members, whether by reducing volunteer time, connecting members through social media or enhancing participant experience

Winner: Southern Cricket Association (TAS)

Runners Up: Ben Baker (QLD)